Laubach and Coyle Shine in NES Day #1 Action


New Egypt, NJ (October 4, 2008) Rick Laubach of Quakertown, PA & Chris Coyle of Wilmington, DE  shared the glory on Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway as each posted victories on day #1 of the season finale Rocktoberfest weekend. Laubach captured the $4000 to win 40 lap open competition 358 Modified feature on NJ Allstate Insurance night, his third win of the year and. Coyle finally put it all together as he captured his first ever win at New Egypt Speedway, in the Rislone URC Sprint Car Series 25-lap event.

In the 358 Modified feature, polesitter Keith Hoffman took command of the event early and appeared to be the best car on this evening as he opened up what appeared to be a comfortable lead. Laubach would have something to say about this, as he ran down Hoffman and then passed him for the lead on lap #12. Once in front, it then appeared as if Laubach would run away and hide, until Hoffman got a second life and closed in on Laubach over the final 10 laps. Hoffman actually pulled even on several occasions as Jeff Strunk raced into the picture as well, but Laubach was up the challenge as he held on for the well deserved victory. Hoffman settled for second as Strunk faded back as he broke the rear in the car with just two laps remaining, keeping him from being able to make a serious challenge. Jimmy Chester drove home in third, Ryan Watt who started 20th finished 4th and Sportsman champion Willie Osmun rounded out the top five.

Chris Coyle posted his 8th career win with URC Saturday, his first ever win at New Egypt Speedway. After a crowd pleasing dual for the lead for 10 straight laps, Coyle wrestled the lead away from Dave Ely on lap 15 to assume command and then flew to the popular victory. Trevor Lewis came home second over Ely, Kramer Williamson and last years winner of this event Ed Aiken. J.J. Grasso, who had won all four events at NES this season, and 5 of the last 6, was out of the event early as he flipped wildly in turn one on lap 4 after his front wing had broken. Grasso was uninjured in the violent wreck.

In the Crate-1 Sportsman 20 lap feature, Mike Barone made his first appearance of the year count as he cruised home to his first win. Jon Heagele finished a strong second after a late race rally. John Romano, Jr. was third behind the wheel of the Barnstead racing #55, Pat Hires crossed the line in fourth while Ray Woodall, Jr. completed the top five.

The 20 lap Super Stock feature saw Kory Fleming of Milford, NJ win his first event of 2008, taking the season finale. Fleming had to hold off 2 time champ Rob Ormsbee most of the race to post the victory. Billy Bauer grabbed second on the final lap, as Ormsbee raced home in third. Bill Liedtka was fourth and last years defending champ George Quinlan finished fifth.


Tomorrow, Sunday afternoon, October 5, FEDex presents the Big Block Modifieds as they compete in the 7th leg of the 8 race Garden State Dual Track Series. The A1 Racing Products Sportsman will also be in action, along with the SS Sprints (Super Sportsman) & the Outlaw Stocks.. Gates will open at 11:00 a.m. with the first green at 1:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


10/4/08 RESULTS
Fast Timer: Rob Ormsbee 20.287


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Kory Fleming 2. Billy Bauer 3. Rob Ormsbee 4. Bill Liedtka 5. George Quinlan 6. Jason Bubeck 7. Shawn McCaughey 8. Kim Cooke 9. George Marrero 10. Norm Saxton 11. Pete Fogarty 12. Kenny Guyer 13. Jimmy Carpenter 14. Al Burdge 15. Charlie Gunner 16. Glen Rosenberger 17. Jeff Carpenter 18. Kevin Bifulco
1st Heat: 1. Ray Woodall Jr. 2. Archie Myers 3. George Idell 4. Eddie
Prentice 5. Rob Stump 6. Jason Treat
2nd Heat: 1. John Romano Jr. 2. Pat Hires 3. Richie Cass Sr. 4. Jon
Haegele 5. Mike Barone 6. John Micek


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Mike Barone 2. Jon Haegele 3. John Romano Jr. 4. Pat Hires 5. Ray Woodall Jr. 6. Gabe Fox 7. Richie Cass Sr. 8. Steve Davis 9. Archie Myers 10. Kyle Borrer 11. Jason Treat 12. Eric Engstrom 13. Jason Bittner 14. Chris Allen Sr. 15. Rich Steele 16. John Micek 17. Forrest Peters 18. Tom Gibson 19. George Idell Jr. 20. Rob Stump 21. Eddie Prentice 
1st Heat: 1. Rick Laubach 2. Jason Hamilton 3. Wade Hendrickson 4. Doug Manmiller 5. Carmine Infante
2nd Heat: 1. Ryan Godown 2. Keith Hoffman 3. Clay Butler 4. Eric Kormann 5. John Stangle
3rd Heat: 1. Jimmy Chester 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Jeff Strunk 4. Gary Butler 5. Mike Lyons
4th Heat: 1. Meme Desantis 2. Richie Pratt Jr. 3. Willie Osmun 4. Rocco Infante 5. Ryan Watt
B-Main 1: 1. Mike Iles 2. Mike McAleer 3. Troy Wink

B-Main 2: 1. Bryant Brown 2. George Quinlan 3. Rick Wegner

Promoters Provisional(s): Chic Cossaboone, Mike Howardson, Stan Frankenfield Jr., Marc Herman


Feature (40 Laps): 1. Rick Laubach 2. Keith Hoffman 3. Jimmy Chester 4. Ryan Watt 5. Willie Osmun 6. Jimmy Horton 7. Rocco Infante 8. Mike Iles 9. Eric Kormann 10. Clay Butler 11. Carmine Infante 12. Jeff Strunk 13. George Quinlan 14. Bryant Brown 15. Mike Lyons 16. Gary Butler 17. Meme Desantis 18. Doug Manmiller 19. Marc Herman 20. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 21. John Stangle 22. Chic Cossaboone 23. Wade Hendrickson 24. Mike McAleer 25. Mike Howardson 26. Rick Wegner 27. Ryan Godown 28. Jason Hamilton 29. Richie Pratt Jr. 30. Troy Wink


DNQ: Guy Germano, Rick Holsten, John Pursell, Korey Keimig, Tom Umbenhauer, Doug Ostwald, Bobby Sandt, Ryan Grim, Billy Lowden Jr., Dan Waisempacher, Tom Hager, Lou Farina, Steve Young, John Keller, Dave Wiszniewski, Jimmy Horton IV. 
1st Heat: 1. Jeff VanDusen 2. Becca Anderson 3. Kramer Williamson 4. Trevor Lewis 5. Gary Gollub
2nd Heat: 1. Kevin Darling 2. Danny Massey 3. Ed Aikin 4. Jason Clauss 5. Curt Michael
3rd Heat: 1. Chris Coyle 2. Kyle Purks 3. Kevin Welsh 4. J.J. Grasso 5. David Gravel
4th Heat: 1. Dave Ely 2. Robbie Stillwaggon 3. Justin Collett 4. Michael Carber 5. Rory Janney
B-Main: 1. Joey Biasi 2. Danny Massey 3. Kevin Nagy 4. Chuck Palmucci

(Prov: Davey Sammons)


Feature (25 Laps): 1. Chris Coyle 2. Trevor Lewis 3. Dave Ely 4. Kramer Williamson 5. Ed Aikin 6. Jeff VanDusen 7. Michael Carber 8. Curt Michael 9. Kyle Purks 10. Kevin Welsh 11. Robbie Stillwaggon 12. Justin Collett 13. Kevin Nagy 14. Danny Massey 15. Randy West 16. David Gravel 17. Rory Janney 18. Becca Anderson 19. Chuck Palmucci 20. Joey Biasi 21. Jason Clauss 22. Davey Sammons 23. Gary Gollub 24. J.J. Grasson 25. Kevin Darling


DNQ: Andy Hannula, Nate Snyder, Art Liedl, Josh Weller, Kenny Adams, Andy Best, John Baker, Jim Walters, Brett Schoenly, Scott Pursell, Mark Bitner, Mike Kostic