Buckwalter Wins New Egypt ARDC, Rain Stops Mods


New Egypt, NJ (May 31, 2008) Steve Buckwalter of Royersford, PA captured his first ever win at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night in the Spike Chassis ARDC Midget tour event. Buckwalter sped to the front from his mid-pack starting spot to take the lead from leader Randy Monroe, Jr. with just five laps to go, earning his second win of the 2008 season. Monroe settled for second on the night sponsored by Carefree Bus Tours. Nick Wean picked up his third top five finish in six events this season, finishing in third position. Frank Polimeda and Billy Pauch, Jr. rounded out the top five.


After a mid-afternoon thunderstorm caused a two-hour delay at the start of the program, it still appeared that the entire show would be completed in its entirety.  However, with ten laps complete in the 25-lap big block Modified event, another heavy thundershower moved in causing the rest of the event to be rescheduled to a future date. Rich Rutski took the lead five laps into the event from early race leader, Ricky Yetter, and was still the leader when the rains came. Rick Laubach and Billy Pauch, who started 21st and 18th respectively, were putting on a crowd-pleasing duel through traffic as they raced to the front.  The two were running third and fourth on lap 10 when they tangled going into turn one. The incident found both spinning to bring out the caution, heating up what apparently is already an intense rivalry. When the race is restarted at a future date to be announced, both will have to race from the rear again, which should make for some outstanding side-by-side racing.


John Romano, Jr. of New Eqypt, NJ captured the 20 lap A1 Racing Products Sportsman Feature event.  Second place finisher John Stangle and third place finisher Rich Scagliotta were both disqualified for post-race technical infractions. This put Clay Butler and Gary Butler second and third in the final run-down. Fourth was Dan Waisempacher with defending champ Willie Osmun rounding out the top five.


In the sixth race of the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman series, Kevin Vaclavicek won for the second time and took over the series point lead.  Past winner Rob Stump finished second while two-time winner Gabe Fox ran third. 
The scheduled 15-lap Outlaw Stock feature and 20-lap Super Stock main event were also postponed due to the weather and will be rescheduled to a future date to be announced soon.  
Next Saturday evening, June 7th, NES will be back in action featuring big-block Modifieds,  A-1 Sportsman, Super Stocks, SS Sprints, Crate-1 Sportsman & the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie series. Also joining the program will be the popular Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club, with many cars on display from races past.  Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with first green at 5:30 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.





Heat 1: 1. Ricky Yetter 2. Rich Rutski 3. Brian Godown 4. Tom Carberry 5. Tad Cox 6. Stan Frankenfield Jr.

Heat 2: 1. Steve Haggan 2. Sam Martz 3. Mike Krachun 4. Keith Hoffman 5. Billy Pauch 6. Bob Drayton

Heat 3: 1. John Salvatore Jr. 2. Frank Cozze 3. Mark Forte Jr. 4. Ron John Koczon 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Dominick Buffalino

B-Main: 1. Kenny Meisner 2. Scott VanGorder 3. Rick Laubach 4. Billy Pauch Jr. 5. Wade Hendrickson 6. Tim Tanner Jr. (Pts. Prov: John Keller)
Feature (25 Laps): 10 laps complete, to be finished at a future date TBA.
DNQ: Dave Stonebreaker, Chic Cossaboone, Robbie Nixon, Chris Grbac, Anthony Moran, Rick Wegner



Rookie Feature (8 Laps): 1. Kevin Vaclavicek 2. Rob Stump 3. Gabe Fox 4. Chris Allen Jr. 5. Andrew Visinski DNS: Bobby Sandt Jr.


Heat 1: 1. John Romano Jr. 2. Donnie Kline 3. Dan Waisempacher 4. Danny Bouc 5. Lou Farina III 6. Willie Osmun 7. Steve Schmidt 8. John McClelland

Heat 2: 1. Rocco Infante 2. Gary Butler 3. Rich Scagliotta 4. Tommy Carberry Jr. 5. Clay Butler 6. Alan Bleacher 7. Mike Howardson 8. Marc Herman

B-Main: 1. John Stangle 2. Tim Apgar 3. Ray Woodall Jr. 4. Frank Cozze Jr. 5. Will Dupree 6. George Idell Jr. 7. Ryan Forte (Pts. Prov: Bob Hendershot)

DNQ: Chris Allen Jr., Andrew Visinski, Bobby Sandt Jr., Gabe Fox
Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Romano Jr. 2. Clay Butler 3. Gary Butler 4. Dan Waisempacher 5. Willie Osmun 6. Alan Bleacher 7. Lou Farina III 8. Ray Woodall Jr. 9. Will Dupree 10. Bob Hendershot 11. Frank Cozze Jr. 12. George Idell Jr. 13. Tommy Carberry Jr. 14. Steve Schmidt 15. Mike Howardson 16. Donnie Kline 17. John McClelland 18. Tim Apgar 19. Danny Bouc 20. Everett Taylor 21. Kevin Vaclavicek 22. Ryan Forte 23. Rocco Infante 24. Marc Herman DQ: John Stangle, Rich Scagliotta



Feature (20 Laps): Postponed to future date TBA



Feature (15 Laps): Postponed to future date TBA



Heat 1: 1. Tracy Readinger 2. Frank Polimeda 3. Brett Arndt 4. Steve Buckwalter 5. Nick Wean 6. AJ Ernesto

Heat 2: 1. Randy Monroe Jr. 2. Andy Martin 3. Scott Zipp 4. Drew Heistand 5. PJ Gargulio 6. Chris Zrinski

Heat 3: 1. Billy Pauch Jr. 2. Carey Becker 3. Zach Martini 4. Steve Lenig 5. Eric Heydenreich 6. Mark Lawshe


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Steve Buckwalter 2. Randy Monroe 3. Nick Wean 4. Frank Polimeda 5. Billy Pauch Jr. 6. AJ Ernesto 7. Eric Heydenreich 8. Carey Becker 9. Drew Heistand 10. PJ Gargulio 11. Scott Zipp 12. Zach Martini 13. Bruce Buckwalter 14. Brett Conkling 15. Lew Blair 16. Chris Rupp 17. Mark Lawshe 18. Steve Lenig 19. Chris Zrinski 20. Tracy Readinger 21. Andy Martin 22. Brett Conkling 23. Stephanie Stevens 24. Jack Spence DNS: Jimmy Commock