Vaccaro is NES Mr. Super Stock, Koczon Stops Pauch on Final Turn


New Egypt, NJ (May 17, 2008) – Bob Vaccaro of Howell, NJ stunned the crowd on Saturday night as he won the first race of his career in the 25 lap Mr. Super Stock Classic at New Egypt Speedway. Vaccaro used a late race charge to go from third to first with just 2 laps to go and went on to the victory in the most prestigious race of the season for the Super Stocks on Cray Electric & Motorsports Night. 


"This is just amazing!," gushed an exuberant Vaccaro in victory lane, "It feels so good to finally break through, and to do it in this event just makes it more special."


Defending Mr. Super Stock Mick Search grabbed the lead at the start of the event and held it for the first 8 laps over defending champ George Quinlan and point leader Todd Cray. All-time leading feature winner Billy Bauer then charged into the scene and took an impressive lead over the rest of the field. With 7 laps to go, Steve Davis moved into the runner-up spot and began challenging for the lead. All eyes were now focused on Bauer and Davis, including Vaccaro’s, as they battled for the lead & the Mr. Super Stock crown. With just over 2 laps to go, Vaccaro showed his cards as he powered underneath the two and went on to his first career Super Stock victory. Davis finished an impressive run in second, while Marty Derr came home third in just his third ever start! Bauer held on for fourth and Pete Fogarty rounded out the top five.


Ron John Koczon of New Egypt, NJ captured the 25 lap held over Modified feature event from May 3rd. Koczon lead numerous times in the wild event before he retook the lead from Billy Pauch in the final turn. Bob Drayton inched out Pauch at the line for his best finish of the year, while Pauch was relegated to third. Former champ Keith Hoffman was fourth while Mike Hendershot drove a strong race to finish fifth. 


In the Sportsman division Willie Osmun of Bloomsbury, NJ won his 17th career feature event, passing a dominate Rocco Infante on the final lap of the curfew shortened 18 lap affair. Rich Scagliotta held off John Romano Jr. to finish third, followed by Tim Apgar.


In the fourth race of the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman series, Kevin Vaclavicek won for the first time. One-time winner Rob Stump finished second while Chris Allen Jr. came home third. 


With Mother Nature throwing rain at us again all day long Friday continuously into Saturday morning, the track crew worked feverishly from the predawn hours Saturday up until race time to prepare the track surface for racing. Despite their extraordinary efforts, the racing surface was frustrating for everyone involved including track management. With every effort being made to correct the problem throughout the show, the result was numerous delays and the entire show not being completed by the 11:15pm curfew. 


Thanking our loyal fans for their support thru these unavoidable weather conditions last night, speedway owners Bill Miscoski & Fred Vahlsing announced that all fans in attendance Saturday night (May 17th) are urged to save their wrist bands and present them at the ticket window this coming holiday weekend (Sat. May 24th) for a $2.00 discount off of the admission price. 


The curfewed Modified B main and feature event along with the SS Sprint feature will be made up in the near future with no increase in the general admission price. Dates for these make up events will be announced soon.


Next Saturday night, May 24th, it will be our Memorial Day weekend Medal of Honor tribute sponsored by Joy Auto Parts. The racing will feature the fan favorite Twin 20’s for the big-block Modifieds, along with a full card of the A-1 Sportsman, Super Stocks, Crate-1 Sportsman & the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie series. The rain postponed Sportsman feature event from May 3rd will also be on tap. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with first green at 5:30 pm. Adult admission will be $20, children 7-12 will be $7 and all kids 6 and under are always free. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.



B Main (from 5/3): 1. Kenny Meisner 2. Rick Wegner 3. John Salvatore Jr. 4. Mike Krachun 5. Darren McCaughey 6. Tad Cox 7. Bill Paulmenn


Make-up Feature (from 5/3) (25 laps): 1. Ron John Koczon 2. Bob Drayton 3. Billy Pauch 4. Keith Hoffman 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Brian Godown 7. Mike Krachun 8. Tom Carberry 9. Darren McCaughey 10. Ken Meisner 11. Tad Cox 12. Rick Wegner 13. John Salvatore Jr. 14. Frank Cozze 15. Tim Tanner Jr. 16. Rich Rutski 17. Ricky Yetter 18. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 19. Sam Martz 20. Dominick Buffalino 21. Mark Forte Jr. 22. Bucky Kell 23. John Keller 24. Jim Robertson 25. Bill Paulmenn


Timed Dashes: 1. Mike Krachun 18.055 2. Dominick Buffalino 18.230 3. Keith Hoffman 18.289 4. Billy Pauch 18.294 5. Ron John Koczon 18.313 6. Bob Drayton 18.349 7. Mark Forte Jr. 18.357 8. Tim Tanner Jr. 9. Frank Cozze 18.364 10. Rick Laubach 18.373





Rookie Feature (8 laps): 1. Kevin Vaclavicek 2. Rob Stump 3. Chris Allen Jr. 4. Gabe Fox 5. Bobby Sandt Jr. 6. Andrew Visinski 7. Wayne Groover 8. Jimmy Watts DNS: Steve Lane


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Willie Osmun 2. Rocco Infante 3. Rich Scagliotta 4. John Romano Jr. 5. Tim Apgar 6. Mike Howardson 7. Marc Herman 8. Will Dupree 9. Ryan Forte 10. Lou Farina III 11. Jeff Marcucci 12. Kevin Vaclavicek 13. Ray Woodall 14. Mike Mongiello 15. Peach Cole 16. Lee Allen 17. Steve Schmidt 18. Alan Bleacher 19. Clay Butler 20. Joe Systo 21. John McClelland 22. Dan Waisempacher 23. Tommy Carberry Jr. 24. Ron Barnstead 25. Danny Bouc 26. Chad Barney 27. Bob Hendershot 28. Donnie Kline 29. John Scarpati Jr. 30. Everett Taylor 31. John Stangle


Mr. Super Stock Classic (25 laps): 1. Bob Vaccaro 2. Steve Davis 3. Marty Derr 4. Billy Bauer 5. Pete Fogarty 6. Al Burdge 7. Nick Vasquez 8. Greg Schmidt 9. Don Shipley 10. George Quinlan 11. Tony Giglio 12. Bill Liedtka 13. Sean Post 14. Jesse McLaughlin 15. George Marrero 16. Norm Saxton 17. Joe Garey 18. Mick Search 19. Todd Cray 20. Kory Fleming 21. Kevin Bifulco 22. Jason Bubeck 23. Herb Stout DNS: Rob Ormsbee DQ: Joe Mongeau


Maske-Up Feature (15 Laps): 1. Art Liedl 2. Mark Bitner 3. John Romano Jr. 4. John Snook 5. Dan Biggs 6. Ed Hughes 7. Ton Wyckoff 8. Bryan Kuhl 9. Robert Liedl 10. Frank Smith 11. Glenn Sinibaldi 12. Rick Cozze 13. Ian Borden 14. Jim Hoelterling 15. Ken Buckley 16. Nick Bardsley Jr.




Feature (15 Laps): 1. Brian Ludwig 2. Spider Ensinger 3. Gary Klimeczak 4. Rich Mongeau 5. Vern McLaughlin 6. Rich Smith 7. Bob Dooley 8. Whitey Miller 9. #9 10. Scott Dugan 11. Jeff Dirkes 12. Rob Bretigan 13. Billy Wroble 14. Ed Tinsman 15. Dan Colomer 16. Doug Debray 17. Doug Bates 18. Rich Reider 19. Chris Felber 20. Ron Dirkes 21. Goop Mondelli 22. Mike Dunn 23. PJ Oliver