Bridgeport, NJ (August 23, 2008) – In the sixth leg of the eight race American Racer Garden State Dual Track Series for Big Block Modifieds, Rick Laubach was the victor at Bridgeport Speedway. Sean Gunther triumphed in the 358 Sportsman event. Travis Hill won the GM Sportsman feature and Rich Reider gained another victory in the Outlaw Stock division.

Richie Pratt Jr. outgasssed the field at the start of the Big Block Modified feature with Ryan Watt, Chad James, Chic Cossaboone and Duane Howard giving chase. With James moving into second place on lap 5, all eyes were still focused on Pratt as he established a substantial lead early and began to encounter lapped traffic on lap 7. While running in the fourth position, Howard suffered a right rear flat on lap 8 bringing out the first caution of the event. On the restart, the top three of Pratt, James and Watt remained the same with Wade Hendrickson and Rick Laubach getting around Cossaboone. The caution lights beamed twice on lap 11 including an eight car multi-tangle which eliminated 2007 Bridgeport Speedway Modified Champion Billy Pauch from competition. When action resumed, Hendrickson zoomed into second place and Laubach advanced into fourth place still chasing Pratt. Two laps later, Matt Harrell’s spin in turn four brought out another yellow flag. When the green flag waved, an intense three-car battle for the top spot began between Pratt, Hendrickson and Laubach but Pratt held onto his lead. Pratt began to navigate through lapped traffic again on lap 23 but his car began to show some smoke a few laps later. Running in fourth place, James brought out another caution on lap 27 as he experienced a flat tire. Pratt’s strong night ended as he took his car to the pits under caution and the lead was turned over to Hendrickson. On the restart, Hendrickson spun his tires and Laubach was able to launch his modified to the lead. Laubach, who started in fifteenth, led the remaining laps to collect his third win of 2008 at Bridgeport Speedway. Hendrickson held on for second place. Jimmy Chester had a very strong night to finish in third place. Watt came home in fourth place and Jimmy Horton was able to pick up some spots in the final laps to claim fifth place. Cossaboone, Hendrickson, and Pratt won the Big Block Modified heat races while Jimmy Horton IV took the checkered flag in the consolation event.

In the 358 Sportsman 20-lap main event, polesitter Don Bogey grabbed the lead at the start and led the first eleven laps. Coming from his sixth starting spot, Sean Gunther moved into second place on lap 4. Bogey and Gunther were joined by John Kelly and Chuck Hopkins to create an early exciting four car battle for the top spot. As the pressure from Gunther on Bogey began to intensify at the midway point of the feature, the caution flag waved for Bob Rambone as his machine came to stop on the raceway. Bogey retired to the pits under the yellow flag with an unknown issue, which handed the lead to Gunther. Gunther survived a couple of late race restarts to seize his first victory of 2008. Hopkins finished in second place. Bob Lineman Jr. drove up from his twelfth starting spot to claim third place. Kelly and Jarrad Miller completed the top five. Lineman Jr, Dan Cogdill, and Hopkins each grabbed a 358 Sportsman heat victory.

Taking advantage of his pole start, David Bell took the lead in the GM Sportsman feature with Bob Bartleson, Kyle Borror and Travis Hill in tow. As Bell had increased his lead by half a straightaway on lap 6, Hill moved into the runner up spot. Bell’s sizeable lead evaporated when Michael Cogdill stopped in turn two on lap 8. On the single file restart, Bell held onto the lead over Hill and was unable to recreate his big advantage over Hill. On the final lap, Hill darted inside of Bell between turns one and two to gain the lead. Hill led Bell to the checkered flag for his fourth win of the season. Michael Barone, Bartleson, and Borror filled out the top five. Cogdill and Bell won the GM Sportsman heat races.

Rich Reider won his twelfth consecutive Outlaw Stock feature. Taking the lead from Rick Broschard on lap 2, Reider survived a couple of restarts and Bill Miller’s pressure to preserve his win streak. Miller, Jeff Dirkes, Mike Hires, and Broschard rounded out the top five.


Bridgeport Speedway Results – Saturday, August 23, 2008


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 – Chic Cossaboone, Jimmy Horton, Ryan Watt, Duane Howard, Jimmy Chester, Mark Forte Sr.

Heat 2 – Wade Hendrickson, Mike Iles, Mark Forte Jr., Pat Wall, Ricky Yetter, Keith Hoffman

Heat 3 – Richie Pratt Jr., Chad James, Steve Bottcher, Bob Sarkisian, Rick Laubach, Billy Pauch

Consolation – Jimmy Horton IV, Matt Harrell, Tom Carberry, Brad Freeman, Gary Hager, Rick Wegner

Provisional – Scott Irwin



RICK LAUBACH, Wade Hendrickson, Jimmy Chester, Ryan Watt, Jimmy Horton, Duane Howard, Chic Cossaboone, Mark Forte Jr., Jimmy Horton IV, Gary Hager, Chad James, Pat Wall, Rick Wegner, Mike Iles, Scott Irwin, Richie Pratt Jr., Steve Bottcher, Tom Carberry, Bob Sarkisian, Keith Hoffman, Matt Harrell, Billy Pauch, Ricky Yetter, Mark Forte Sr., Brad Freeman


DNQ: Steve Transue, Greg Saeger, John Dixon, Doug Ostwald, Mike Mammana, Bobby Firth, Scott Ambruster, Randy Thomas, Mike Franz


358 Sportsman

Heat 1 –  Bob Lineman Jr., Gino Postorivo, Brett Ballard, John Kelly, Jarrad Miller, Jesse Hill

Heat 2 –  Dan Cogdill, Don Bogey, Jimmy Horton IV, Guy Germano, Billy Briggs

Heat 3 –  Chuck Hopkins, John Pursell, Ron Roberts, Sean Gunther, Eric Kormann, Bob Rambone



SEAN GUNTHER, Chuck Hopkins, Bob Lineman Jr., John Kelly, Jarrad Miller, Brett Ballard, Ron Roberts, Jesse Hill, Dan Cogdill, Kevin Collins, Gino Postorivo, Eric Kormann, John Scarpati Jr., Bob Rambone, Guy Germano, Billy Briggs, Don Bogey, Jimmy Horton IV, John Pursell


GM Sportsman

Heat 1 – Michael Cogdill, Jason Rivers, Kyle Borror, Mike Barone, Corey Anderson, Jerry Carter

Heat 2 – David Bell, Travis Hill, Bob Burgess, Bob Bartleson, John Micek



TRAVIS HILL, David Bell, Mike Barone, Bob Bartleson, Kyle Borror, Bob Burgess, John Micek, Corey Anderson, Pat Hires, Jason Rivers, Josh Roscoe, Jon Haegele, Jerry Carter, Michael Cogdill



RICH REIDER, Bill Miller, Jeff Dirkes, Mike Hires, Rick Broschard, Dean Wolford, Ron Dirkes, Bobby Bracall