Rick Holsten Wins First of His Career, Pauch Takes Nightcap at NES;
Ryan Godown is the 2012 Champion

New Egypt, NJ (September 29, 2012)
– Rick Holsten of Dayton, NJ & Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ split the two feature events run at New Egypt Speedway for the Modifieds on Championship Night sponsored by C&S Equipment. Holsten was the class of the field in the make-up feature event from last Saturday night, going wire to wire to capture is first ever Modified win. In the regularly scheduled feature, Billy Pauch won for the 5th time this year as he stromed from 11th starting spot to pass race-long leader John Stangle with two laps remaining for the victory. By virtue of his 10th place finish in the opening event, Ryan Godown only had to take the green in the finale to be crowned the 2012 New Egypt Speedway Modified Champ.

Holsten brought the field to the green flag in the first event and went right out to the lead ahead of John Stangle, Tom Carberry, Dave Witte and Neal Williams. Holsten drove away from the field as battles behind him took place for the runner up spot. Gary Butler, who started 9th, appeared in the top five just after halfway when the only caution of the event flew. On the restart Butler tried something that no other driver had done successfully yet by running the outside groove and he quickly advanced from 5th to second in four laps. Butler had the crowd cheering loudly at this point, but over the final five laps Holsten proved that this win was no fluke as he powered away from Butler winning by just over 1 second. Butler’s hard drive gave him a nice second place finish as Tom Carberry came home in the third position. Sam Martz and Tad Cox rounded out the top five.

In the regularly scheduled feature event, Darren McCaughey and John Stangle brought the field to the start with Stangle taking the lead as Tommy Farrell moved up to second. Five laps in 11th starting Billy Pauch was already in 6th and taking fifth the next time around. Pauch marched into second by halfway only to find that Stangle was two-thirds of a straightaway ahead. Pauch began to slowly reel in Stangle as 18th starting and newly crowned Modified champ Ryan Godown charged into third. With no cautions to slow the pace, Pauch closed in on Stangle as they approached lapped traffic. Then as they began to lap cars, Pauch found an opening on the bottom of turn three to drive into the lead with just two laps remaining and go on to capture the non-stop event in a time of 8 minutes and 12 seconds. For Pauch it was the 108th big block Modified feature event victory in his career at New Egypt. Stangle settled for the runner-up spot for the second time this year due to a late race pass. Champ Godown crossed the line third, barely beating a very fast David Van Horn who came from outside the top ten in the final 10 laps to finish fourth. Dominick Buffalino rounded out the top five.

The TSRS 305 Sprint Cars also made up their 20 lap feature event rained out last Saturday night with Mike Haggenbottom winning his third career race at NES. Haggenbottom ran away and hid from the field in heavy lapped traffic, as a fast Ed Newhouser chased after him for the final 10 laps but settled for second. Bill Case Jr. was third followed by Steve Wilson and Brian Carber. Carber then did his imitation of Haggenbottom in the second main as he moved thru lapped traffic flawlessly for the victory, his second of the season. Haggenbottom this time was doing the chasing and settled for second as Crate-1 Sportsman standout Jon Haegele did a fantastic job finishing third. Mike Esposito and Rick Stief rounded out the top five.

Rich Mongeau won the specially scheduled 25 lap Outlaw Stock feature. Mongeau raced to the lead before halfway and then withstood many challenges from Tom Princiotta and Dan Collamer to post his first win of the season. Princiotta’s bid for his first ever win fell one spot short as Dan Collamer was third, followed by John Carpenter and Bill Liedtka.

New Egypt Speedway takes a week off next week before coming back with the big Roctoberfest event on Saturday October 13th, featuring Modifieds, Sportsman, Crate-1 Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks and FASTrak Late Models. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Make-up Feature from 9/22 (25 Laps): 1. Rick Holsten 2. Gary Butler 3. Tom Carberry 4. Sam Martz 5. Tad Cox 6. Neal Williams 7. Billy Pauch Jr. 8. Dave Witte 9. Billy Pauch 10. Ryan Godown 11. Tim Tanner Jr. 12. Mike Iles 13. Tommy Farrell III 14. Dominick Buffalino 15. David Van Horn 16. John McClelland 17. Willie Osmun 18. Bob Drayton 19. John Miloszar 20. Tommy Carberry Jr. 21. Rich Acolia 22. Brad Freeman 23. Danny Bouc 24. Ron John Koczon 25. Mike McAleer 26. John Stangle

1st Heat: 1. Darren McCaughey 2. John Miloszar 3. Dominick Buffalino 4. Billy Pauch 5. Tommy Farrell III 6. Tad Cox
2nd Heat: 1. Randy Laird 2. Mike McAleer 3. Danny Bouc 4. John McClelland 5. Ryan Godown 6. Tom Carberry
3rd Heat: 1. John Stangle 2. Neal Williams 3. Dave Witte 4. Mike Iles 5. Tommy Carberry Jr. 6. David Van Horn
B Main: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Ron John Koczon 3. Billy Pauch Jr. 4. Gary Butler 5. Rick Holsten 6. Sam Martz
Pts Prov: Tim Tanner Jr.
Fans Prov: Bob Drayton

Feature (25 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. John Stangle 3. Ryan Godown 4. David Van Horn 5. Dominick Buffalino 6. Tommy Farrell III 7. Darren McCAughey 8. John Miloszar 9. Dave Witte 10. Mike McAleer 11. John McClelland 12. Tom Carberry 13. Mike Iles 14. Billy Pauch Jr. 15. Willie Osmun 16. Randy Laird 17. Gary Butler 18. Neal Williams 19. Tommy Carberry Jr. 20. Ron John Koczon 21. Danny Bouc 22. Sam Martz 23. Rick Holsten 24. Tad Cox 25. Bob Drayton 26. Tim Tanner Jr.

DNQ: Rich Acolia, Rich Kuiken Jr., Brad Freeman, Clay Butler, Eric Engstrom, Doug Ostwald

Make-up Feature from 9/22 (20 Laps): 1. Mike Haggenbottom 2. Ed Newhouser 3. Bill Case Jr. 4. Steve Wilson 5. Brian Carber 6. Stephanie Palmai 7. Chuck Palmucci 8. Mike Esposito 9. Eddie Wagner 10. Joe Lord 11. Bruce Kindberg 12. Steve Davis 13. Jon Haegele 14. David Martin 15. Cody Jourdan 16. Harris Kohen 17. Rick Homan 18. Scott Frack 19. Bobby Devault 20. Keith Anderson 21. Adam Carberry 22. Phil Meisner Jr. 23. Pat Freiberger 24. Rick Stief

1st Heat: 1. Steve Wilson 2. Bill Case Jr. 3. Mike Esposito 4. Cody Jourdan 5. Eddie Wagner 6. Ed Newhouser
2nd Heat: 1. Brian Carber 2. Rick Stief 3. Mike Haggenbottom 4. Jon Haegele 5. Phil Meisner Jr. 6. Bobby Devault

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Brian Carber 2. Mike Haggenbottom 3. Jon Haegele 4. Mike Esposito 5. Rick Stief 6. Bobby Devault 7. George Loux 8. Eddie Wagner 9. Ed Newhouser 10. Stephanie Palmai 11. Phil Meisner Jr. 12. Steve Wilson 13. David Martin 14. Bill Case Jr. 15. Chuck Palmucci 16. Bruce Kindberg 17. Scott Frack 18. Joe Lord 19. Steve Davis 20. Pat Freiberger 21. Ian Borden 22. Harris Kohen 23. Keith Anderson 24. Cody Jourdan
DNS: Adam Carberry, Rick Homan

Feature (25 Laps): 1. Rich Mongeau 2. Tom Princiotta 3. Dan Collamer 4. John Carpenter 5. Bill Liedtka 6. Ron Frees 7. Billy Wroble 8. Gary Klimeczak 9. Jason Prater 10. Todd Dige 11. Jimmy Avery 12. Brian Willetts 13. Art Avery 14. Doug Debray 15. Joe Reid 16. Animal 17. Charlie Gunner 18. Jeff McGlynn