Osmun and Bright Beat the Rain at New Egypt, 2 Features Postponed

New Egypt, NJ (Sept 22, 2012)
– Willie Osmun of Bloomsbury, NJ won his second feature of the season Saturday night by winning the make-up 20 main event from April 28th. The event, which has been postponed several times this season, was run early in the evening as Osmun out-dueled Billy Pauch, Jr. for his third career victory. Qualifying was then completed and the ARDC Midget feature was run as Alex Bright of Collegeville, PA won his first ever event at NES. A line of heavy thundershowers then hit the speedway at about 8:45pm just as the green flag was thrown on the TSRS 305 sprint feature causing the postponement of the final two feature events of the evening, which was sponsored by Roma Bank.

Osmun charged to the lead of the make-up feature event only to see the yellow thrown before a lap could be recorded as a four car pileup occurred in turn #3 involving Darren McCaughey, Chris Grbac, Rick Holsten and Randy Laird. On the complete restart, pole-sitter Tommy Carberry, Jr. grabbed the lead chased by Ron John Koczon, Osmun and Billy Pauch Jr. Osmun wasted no time as he caught Carberry Jr and passed him for the lead on lap 3 and quickly opened up a 10 car length lead as Pauch Jr. raced into second. Pauch Jr. was visibly running Osmun down with open track ahead and caught Osmun just as the duo reached the first lapped car. Before Osmun could lap that car, Pauch Jr. roared around the outside of both for the lead as Osmun then chased after him. Lapped traffic became very heavy causing both drivers to be on top of their games as Osmun kept the pressure on by matching every one of Pauch Jr.’s moves. With 6 laps remaining, Pauch Jr. attempted to lap Dominick Buffalino in turn two at the exact same time that Buffalino slowed and turned left into the infield. This caused Pauch Jr. to check up and opened the door for Osmun as he raced around the outside of both cars to regain the lead. Pauch Jr. then stayed right on Osmun’s bumper for the next five laps till the only other caution of the event since the start appeared with just one lap remaining, setting up a one lap shoot out. When the green flag flew however, Osmun never let him mount a challenge as he pulled away to a 3 car length victory over “the Kid’s Kid”. Tommy Carberry Jr. worked extremely hard the entire event holding off Ron John Koczon to finish third, with Koczon settleing for fourth at the checkered. Mike Iles rounded out the top five.

The traveling ARDC Midget series made their only appearance of 2012 at New Egypt as Alex Bright took top honors in their 20 lap event. Bright passed race long leader Mark Gilmore for the top spot just after halfway, and then held off challenges from Trevor Kobylarz and Steve Buckwalter for the win. Kobylarz was a very close second and Buckwalter just nipped Gilmore at the line for third. Gilmore was fourth and young Jimmy Glenn came home fifth.

The TSRS 305 Sprint feature had just gone green when the yellow was thrown in turn one for the rain, which minutes later brought the night to a halt. Information on when this race and the regularly scheduled 30-lap Modified feature will be made up will be released sometime this week.

In Modified qualifying, the three heat races run for the 33 cars on hand were won by Rick Holsten, Tim Tanner and Tom Carberry, Sr. Tommy Carberry, Jr. was victorious in the B Main. 305 Sprint heats for the 36 sprint cars on hand were captured by Chuck Palmucci, Steve Wilson and Jamie Kostic with Phil Meisner, Jr. and Jeff Schall winning the two B Mains.

Next Saturday night, Sept. 29th, New Egypt Speedway presents Modified championship night. The Modifieds are scheduled to compete in Twin 20 lap features to decide the 2012 NES point championship, however the format of this show could change to accommodate tonight’s 30-lap postponed feature event and will be released soon. The always popular URC Sprints make their second and final appearance of the year at New Egypt Speedway as well. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Make-up Feature from 4/28 (20 Laps): 1. Willie Osmun 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Tommy Carberry Jr. 4. Ron John Koczon 5. Mike Iles 6. David Van Horn 7. Tad Cox 8. Billy Pauch 9. Ryan Godown 10. Danny Bouc 11. Neal Williams 12. Tim Tanner Jr. 13. John McClelland 14. Tommy Farrell III 15. Sam Martz 16. Bob Drayton 17. Randy Laird 18. Rick Holsten 19. Sammy Piazza 20. Rich Acolia 21. Dominick Buffalino 22. Tom Carberry 23. Dave Witte 24. John Stangle 25. Darren McCaughey 26. Chris Grbac

1st Heat: 1. Rick Holsten 2. John McClelland 3. Neal Williams 4. Dominick Buffalino 5. Gary Butler 6. Ron John Koczon
2nd Heat: 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. Sam Martz 3. Willie Osmun 4. Billy Pauch Jr. 5. Ryan Godown 6. John Stangle
3rd Heat: 1. Tom Carberry 2. Mike Iles 3. Dave Witte 4. Tommy Farrell III
5. Billy Pauch Jr. 6. Tad Cox
B Main: 1. Tommy Carberry Jr. 2. Danny Bouc 3. Brad Freeman 4. Bob Drayton 5. John Miloszar 6. Rich Acolia
Pts. Prov: David Van Horn
Fans Prov: Mike McAleer
Feature (30 Laps): RAIN - Postponed

DNQ: Sammy Piazza, Chris Grbac, Randy Laird, Dave Hunt, Doug Ostwald, Eric Engstrom, Darren McCaughey

1st Heat: 1. Chuck Palmucci 2. Mike Haggenbottom 3. Bill Case Jr. 4. Craig Rochelle 5. Eddie Wagner 6. Bobby Devault
2nd Heat: 1. Steve Wilson 2. Bruce Kindberg 3. Adam Carberry 4. Kyle Purks 5. Jimmy Carpenter 6. Pat Freiberger
3rd Heat: 1. Jamie Kostic 2. Mike Esposito 3. Gabe Fox 4. Ed Newhouser 5. Kyle Reinhardt 6. Keith McIntyre Jr.
1st B Main: 1. Phil Meisner Jr. 2. Brian Carber 3. Joe Lord
2nd B Main: 1. Jeff Schall 2. David Martin 3. Rick Stief

Feature (20 Laps): RAIN - Postponed

DNQ: Scott Frack, Stephanie Palmai, Chris Allen Jr., Rick Homan, Harris Kohen, Keith Anderson, Steve Davis, David Brown Jr., Brock Bilger, Cody Jourdan, Jeff Davis, Pat Usellis

1st Heat: 1. Mark Gilmore 2. Jimmy Glenn 3. Tim Buckwalter 4. Dusty Heistand 5. Steve Buckwalter
2nd Heat: 1. Ryan Greth 2. Nick Wean 3. Dave Shirk 4. Alex Bright 5. PJ Gargiulo

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Alex Bright 2. Trevor Kobylarz 3. Steve Buckwalter 4. Mark Gilmore 5. Jimmy Glenn 6. Tim Buckwalter 7. Steven Drevicki 8. Brett Arndt 9. Dusty Heistand 10. PJ Gargiulo 11. Brenden Bright 12. Dave Shirk 13. Corey Becker 14. Steve Craig 15. Bill Courtwright 16. Nick Wean 17. Drew Heistand 18. Ryan Greth 19. Brett Wanner 20. Bruce Buckwalter 21. Brian Gilmore