Dorry & Lyons Star at New Egypt Saturday,
Eric Palmer and Clay Butler Crowned 2012 Champs

New Egypt, NJ (Sept. 15, 2012) – Frank Dorry of Ringoes, NJ and Mike Lyons of Hopewell, NJ shared the spotlight at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night by winning their respective feature events on Wawa Championship Night. Dorry won his first career feature event by winning the Crate-1 Sportsman Scott Doty Memorial, honoring the memory of the 41 year old rookie driver who passed away a month ago from a heart attack suffered while racing in the Crate-1 B Main. In a heartfelt victory lane interview Dorry donated all of his winnings to the Doty family, who were all in attendance. Lyons then won his second Sportsman main event of the season as he captured his second straight feature in the 20 lap event.

These double point events marked the end of the 2012 points season and Clay Butler and newcomer Eric Palmer were crowned champions. Butler won his first Sportsman championship by finishing second to Lyons after starting 16th, and Palmer won his championship by virtue of his fifth place finish in his first season racing at New Egypt Speedway.

Lyons started 6th and raced to the lead on lap 5 passing Brian Roemer. Once in front Lyons pulled away with ease until the final five laps when 16th starting Clay Butler flew into second and began running down the leader. Lyons however was up to the challenge and held off the champion by 3 car lengths for the 17th Sportsman victory of his career. Butler settled for second and the 2012 Sportsman championship. DJ Ruppert, Roemer and 2005 champ Rich Rutski completed the top five.

Dorry started 7th in the Scott Doty Memorial Crate-1 Sportsman 20 lap feature, which saw the field leave the pole position open in the missing man formation during the wave lap. On lap 4, Doty’s car number, the entire crowd on hand stood in tribute to his memory holding four fingers over their heads for the entire lap. Dorry was less than dominate during the first half of the event, running just outside of the top ten. It was at this point he found that his car was beginning to work well in the top groove, and he used this to march to the front. Dorry grabbed the lead with just 2 laps remaining from race long leader Matt McAnally and charged to his first ever victory at the speedway. McAnally settled for second followed by Mike Carman, Jon Haegele and Palmer.

Jarrod Burdge won his 2nd feature of the year in the 20 lap Outlaw Stock race. Burdge started 12th on the field and drove to the front in another super-exciting Outlaw stock feature that again boasted of 2, 3 and even 4 wide racing throughout the event as the top 10-12 cars were always packed together from start to finish. Burdge beat former champ Rich Mongeau to the line with Billy Wroble right behind them for third. Ron Freese and Bill Liedtka rounded out the top five. John Carpenter captured his first ever championship by finishing 8th.

In the twin 12 lap features for the FASTRAK Late Models Rob Ormsbee swept the two events for the sixth time this year. The two wins gives him 17 on the year out of 22 events, and he won at least 1 of the two features every night the the Late Models raced this season. Cody Dawson and PJ Oliver were 2nd and third in the first feature, while Oliver and Giglio chased Ormsbee to the finish in the second event. Ormsbee was crowned the 2012 FASTrak Late Model champion.

In TSRS 305 Sprint action it was Kyle Reinhardt winning his third feature at New Egypt. Pat Freiberger finished second over Kyle Purks, Joe Lord and Mike Haggenbottom.

Next Saturday night, Sept. 23, New Egypt Speedway presents the only appearance of the year for the ARDC Midgets. Joining the Midgets will be a complete show for the Big-Block Modifieds, along with the make-up Modified 20 lap feature from April 28th, and the TSRS 305 Sprint cars will also be on hand. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


1st Heat: 1. John Micek 2. Mike Everett 3. Jon Haegele 4. Brian Papiez 5. Mike Carmen 6. Jordan Cox
2nd Heat: 1. Doug Urbano 2. Ryan Simmons 3. Adam Cox 4. Frank Dorry 5. Jordan Henn 6. Bryan Kuhl
3rd Heat: 1. Matt McAnally 2. Steve Hicks 3. Steve Ramsey 4. Eric Palmer 5. Chuck Steuer 6. Jarrett Rozycki
B Main: 1. John Aumick 2. Jeremy Martino 3. Ron Barnstead 4. Scott Hyland 5. Kyle Bostick 6. Bob Rambone

Scott Doty Memorial Feature (20 Laps): 1. Frank Dorry 2. Matt McAnally 3. Mike Carman 4. Jon Haegele 5. Eric Palmer 6. Brian Papiez 7. Steve Ramsey 8. Steve Hicks 9. Jarrett Rozycki 10. Jordan Henn 11. Chuck Steuer 12. Ryan Simmons 13. Doug Urbano 14. Kyle Bostick 15. Adam Cox 16. John Aumick 17. John Micek 18. Scott Hyland 19. Mike Everett 20. Ron Barnstead 21. Bob Rambone 22. Jeremy Martino 23. Jordan Cox 24. Luke Schostkewitz 25. Bryan Kuhl

DNQ: Scott Lamantia, Dean Conk Jr.

1st Heat: 1. John Cornell III 2. Jim Housworth 3. Clay Butler 4. Marc Herman 5. Will Dupree 6. DJ Ruppert
2nd Heat: 1. Bob Lineman Jr. 2. Alan Bleacher 3. Rocco Infante 4. Ebby Ridge 5. Mike Howardson 6. Rich Rutski
3rd Heat: 1. Brian Roemer 2. Mike Lyons 3. Mike Butler 4. Kevin Vaclavicek 5. Chad Barney 6. Gene Stravinsky

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Mike Lyons 2. Clay Butler 3. DJ Ruppert 4. Brian Roemer 5. Rich Rutski 6. Bob Lineman Jr. 7. Kevin Vaclavicek 8. Jim Housworth 9. Rocco Infante 10. John Cornell III 11. Marc Herman 12. Alan Bleacher 13. Mike Butler 14. Chad Barney 15. Will Dupree 16. Mike Howardson 17. Gene Stravinsky 18. Ebby Ridge 19. Bill Liedtka 20. Jeff Marcucci 21. Mick Search 22. Joe Maulson 23. Marty Saxton 24. Robin McTighe 25. John Marini Jr.

DNQ: None

1st Heat: 1. Dan Collamer 2. Ron Freese 3. Bill Liedtka 4. Brian Ludwig 5. Bill Connolly 6. Todd Woodruff
2nd Heat: 1. Doug Debray 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Tom Princiotta 4. Marty Derr 5. Jason Prater 6. Spider Ensinger Jr.
3rd Heat: 1. Billy Wroble 2. Jason Saredy 3. Tom Wills Jr. 4. Tom Wills Sr. 5. Ed Tinsman 6. Jarrod Burdge
B Main: 1. John Carpenter 2. Todd Dige 3. Carl Thomas 4. Gary Klimeczak 5. Nick Keefe 6. Jimmy Avery

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Jarrod Burdge 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Billy Wroble 4. Ron Freese 5. Bill Liedtka 6. Jason Prater 7. Todd Dige 8. John Carpenter 9. Tom Princiotta 10. Tom Wills Sr. 11. Marty Derr 12. Jimmy Avery 13. Spider Ensinger Jr. 14. Tom Wills Jr. 15. Nick Keefe 16. Bill Connelly 17. Todd Woodruff 18. Jason Saredy 19. Carl Thomas 20. Doug Debray 21. Brian Ludwig 22. Dan Collamer 23. Gary Klimeczak 24. Ed Tinsman

DNQ: Brian Willetts, Art Avery, Charlie Gunner, Ed Tinsman Sr.

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Cody Dawson 3. PJ Oliver 4. Tony Giglio 5. Al Burdge
Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. PJ Oliver 3. Tony Giglio 4. Cody Dawson 5. Skip Syester 6. DJ Macri 7. Alessa Young 8. Al Burdge 9. Ron Coverly

1st Heat: 1. Gabe Fox 2. Phil Meisner Jr. 3. Steve Wilson 4. Mike Haggenbottom 5. Pat Freiberger 6. Stephanie Palmai
2nd Heat: 1. Bruce Kindberg 2. Kyle Purks 3. Jimmy Carpenter 4. Jeff Schall 5. Rick Stief 6. Scott Frack
3rd Heat: 1. Jon Haegele 2. Joe Lord 3. Kyle Reinhardt 4. Bill Case Jr. 5. Adam Carberry 6. Bobby DeVault
B Main: 1. Eddie Wagner 2. David Martin 3. Rick Homan 4. George Loux 5. Brian Pomponio 6. Jeff Davis

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Kyle Reinhardt 2. Pat Freiberger 3. Kyle Purks 4. Joe Lord 5. Mike Haggenbottom 6. Steve Wilson 7. Rick Stief 8. Bobby DeVault 9. Phil Meisner Jr. 10. Stephanie Palmai 11. Jon Haegele 12. Bill Case Jr. 13. Jimmy Carpenter 14. George Loux 15. Bruce Kindberg 16. Eddie Wagner 17. David Martin 18. Rick Homan 19. Brian Pomponio 20. Scott Frack 21. Jeff Schall 22. Gabe Fox 23. Jeff Davis 24. Adam Carberry

DNQ: David Brown Jr., Keith Anderson, Harris Kohen, Cody Jourdan, Steve Davis, Art Liedl, Erica Palmai, Pat Usellis