Brian Papiez Wins Crate “Friends of Mike” 40 at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (Sept 1, 2012)
–  Brian Papiez of Belle Mead, NJ won his second feature of the year at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he captured the 40 lap “Friends of Mike” Crate-1 Sportsman event. Papiez charged back from 6th spot during the second half of the race, passing leader Chuck Steuer with 5 laps remaining after a 10 lap side by side battle to pocket the $1200 first prize.

Adam Cox grabbed the lead at the start however fourth starter Chuck Steuer wasted no time as he passed Cox as they completed lap two and became the new leader. Once in front Steuer took command of the event leading Cox, Joe Dill Mike Carman and Papiez. Steuer opened up a sizeable lead on several occasions, with only Cox able to keep pace with him. Mike Butler was on the move as he drove into third by lap 8 and was looking strong as he began to challenge Cox for second. A restart on lap 19 set the tone for the second half as Brian Papiez, who had been racing in fourth or fifth much of the event, made a move to run on the outside and found a groove that his car liked. As he rolled the corners up on the cushion, he went from fifth to second in just two laps and caught the leader the following lap.  What ensued was a crowd pleasing side-by-side duel for the next 10 laps that saw Steuer holding the lead on every one of them at the line by less than a car length. Finally the on lap 33 Papiez decided to try and cross over to the inside and use his momentum to carry his #93B past Steuer. His first two attempts did not work, but showed him that it was the right move, and his third try was the charm on lap 35 as he drove by Steuer off of turn four and into the lead. Once in front Papiez opened up a five car length lead which he held to the checkered for his 7th career victory at NES. Steuer’s search for his first ever Crate feature win came up just short as he crossed the line in second. Mike Butler was a solid third, chased home by 16th starter Eric Palmer and Jordan Henn.

Jeff Schall crossed the line first in the Tri-State Race Saver 305 Sprint Series 20 lapper for what appeared to be his 2nd win of the season, however Schall’s mount came up light at the post race weigh-in, resulting in his disqualification from the event. This moved second place finisher Joe Lord of Hamilton, NJ into victory lane for his second win of the year. Lord held off a strong Kyle Purks who settled for second. Mike Haggenbottom was fast once again coming home third, chased by Brian Carber and Bobby Devault.

In the twin Fastrak Late Model 12-lap features, Rob Ormsbee of Wall, NJ and Tony Giglio of Collingswood, split the two races. Ormsbee came from the last row to win the first event over Skip Syester and Cody Dawson. Giglio had the hot setup in the second leading from the early laps to the checkered followed by Ormsbee and PJ Oliver.

It was also the F.O.M. Outlaw Stock event and Ron Freese of Brick, NJ won the 30-lap affair posting his first ever win at New Egypt Speedway. This was truly an excellent race as the top 8 cars ran side by side, sometimes 3 and even 4 wide, the entire race right to the finish getting the crowd to their feet on numerous occasions. The event featured 9 lead changes among six different drivers, including two in the final two laps. Freese had taken over the lead from Jason Saredy on lap 22, but Billy Wroble who was also in search of his first ever win, edged in front of Freese as the white flag flew. Freese then held his line on the inside and got the lead back off of turn number four for the victory. Wroble was second while Saredy finished third. John Carpenter came home fourth and Bill Liedtka rounded out the top five.

This Monday, Labor Day, September 3 it will be the annual Friends of Mike night at New Egypt Speedway. The Modifieds will compete in a 100-lap $10,000 to win event which will also pay an incredible $1,000 to start! The Mods will also race in the fan favorite Rogie Rumble Match Races with $1000 going to the last man standing, and heat race winners will pocket $500 for their efforts. Superstars from all over the northeast are expected to tow in for the big paying event including defending champion Tim McCreadie, Stewart Freisen, Danny Johnson, Matt Sheppard, Brett Hearn, Jimmy Horton, Billy Decker, Pat Ward, Rick Laubach, Duane Howard and Jeff Strunk just to name a few.  The Sportsman will also run an open 25 lap event for an increased purse. Racing gets underway at 4pm, with gates opening at 1pm with a giant BBQ and a Chinese auction. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


1st Heat: 1. Brian Papiez 2. Joe Dill 3. John Aumick 4. Mike Butler 5. Jesse Dill 6. Steve Hicks
2nd Heat: 1. Steve Ramsey 2. Chuck Steuer 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Jordan Henn 5. Adam Cox 6. Eric Palmer
3rd Heat: 1. Mike Carman 2. Jon Haegele 3. Frank Dorry 4. John Micek 5. Kyle Bostick 6. Jordan Cox
B Main: 1. Kevin Vaclavicek 2. Jarrett Rozycki 3. Clay Butler 4. Ryan Simmons 5. Matt Carman 6. Jeremy Martino
Pts. Prov: Ron Barnstead

Feature (40 Laps): 1. Brian Papiez 2. Chuck Steuer 3. Mike Butler 4. Eric Palmer 5. Jordan Henn 6. Steve Hicks 7. Jon Haegele 8. John Aumick 9. Clay Butler 10. Mike Carman 11. Frank Dorry 12. Adam Cox 13. Jordan Cox 14. Kyle Bostick 15. Steve Ramsey 16. Bryan Kuhl 17. Matt Carman 18. John Micek 19. Jarrett Rozycki 20. Jeremy Martino 21. Ron Barnstead 22. Ryan Simmons 23. Jesse Dill 24. Joe Dill 25. Kevin Vaclavicek

DNQ: Matt McAnally, John Scarpati, Mark Clauss, Lauren Emmons, Curt Krazer, Bob Rambone, Melissa Scarpati

1st Heat: 1. Dan Collamer 2. Ron Freese 3. Gary Klimeczak 4. Mick Search 5. Jimmy Avery 6. Ed Tinsman
2nd Heat: 1. Doug Debray 2. John Carpenter 3. Tom Princiotta 4. Jason Saredy 5. Jim Hewitt 6. Tom Wills Jr.
3rd Heat: 1. Brian Ludwig 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Billy Wroble 4. Jarrod Burdge 5. Todd Dige 6. Tom Wills Sr.
B Main: 1. Bill Liedtka 2. Spider Ensinger Jr. 3. Everett Taylor 4. Bill Connolly 5. Marty Derr 6. Todd Woodruff
Pts. Prov: Spider Ensinger Sr.

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Ron Freese 2. Billy Wroble 3. Jason Saredy 4. John Carpenter 5. Bill Liedtka 6. Jarrod Burdge 7. Todd Dige 8. Brian Ludwig 9. Jimmy Avery 10. Jim Hewitt 11. Tom Wills Jr. 12. Tom Wills Sr. 13. Bill Connelly 14. Todd Woddruff 15. Spider Ensinger Jr. 16. Marty Derr 17. Rich Mongeau 18. Dan Collamer 19. Mick Search 20. Spider Ensinger Sr. 21. Everett Taylor 22. Gary Klimeczak 23. Doug Debray 24. Ed Tinsman

DNQ: Dennis Seeley, Art Avery, Earl Willetts, Charlie Gunner, Ed Tinsman Sr., Goop Mondelli, Jason Prater

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Skip Syester 3. Cody Dawson 4. P.J. Oliver 5. D.J. Macri 6. Alessa Young 7. Tony Giglio 8. Ron Coverly

Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Tony Giglio 2. Ron Ormsbee 3. P.J. Oliver 4. Ron Coverly 5. Alessa Young 6. Skip Syester 7. Cody Dawson 8. D.J. Macri

1st Heat: 1. Bobby Devault 2. Bill Case Jr. 3. Phil Meisner Jr. 4. Adam Carberry 5. Ian Borden 6. Pat Freiberger
2nd Heat: 1. Kyle Purks 2. Jeff Schall 3. George Loux 4. Rick Stief 5. Gabe Fox 6. Mike Esposito
3rd Heat: 1. Mike Haggenbottom 2. Chuck Palmucci 3. Joe Lord 4. Steve Wilson 5. Brian Carber 6. Ed Newhouser
B Main: 1. Jon Haegele 2. Sean Campbell 3. Stephanie Palmai 4. Brock Bilger 5. Gary Berkenstock 6. Bruce Kindberg

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Joe Lord 2. Kyle Purks 3. Mike Haggenbottom 4. Brian Carber 5. Bobby Devault 6. Rick Stief 7. Steve Wilson 8. Bill Case Jr. 9. Stephanie Palmai 10. George Loux 11. Mike Esposito 12. Gabe Fox 13. Pat Freiberger 14. Jon Haegele 15. Ian Borden 16. Brock Bilger 17. Gary Berkenstock 18. Bruce Kindberg 19. Sean Campbell 20. Ed Newhouser 21. Adam Carberry 22. Chuck Palmucci 23. Phil Meisner Jr. - DQ: Jeff Schall

DNQ: David Martin, Erica Palmai, Keith Anderson, Steve Davis, Harris Kohen, Pat U'Sellis, Dean Schaffer, Rick Homan