Godown Sweeps Up in New Egypt Twin 20s

New Egypt, NJ (August 25, 2012)
Ryan Godown of Ringoes, NJ swept up at the New Egypt Speedway Saturday Night. No, He did not take a job on the cleaning crew, but he did win both ends of the Modified Twin 20 lap feature events sponsored by National Parts Peddlers. Godown overcame a first lap tangle in the first event that caused enough damage to require two trips to the pit area, driving from the rear of the field to win the first feature over David Van Horn. Then in the nightcap Godown fell backward to 13th spot before he got going as he caught and passed leader Billy Pauch Jr. with three laps to go to pick up the sweep. Godown padded his point lead on a night when each divisional point leader won their respective features.

Godown tangled on the first lap of the first event, going to the pits two times for repairs and adjustments. Once he was back on the track, he charged thru the field with Mike Iles getting to fifth with five laps remaining. Race long leader David Van Horn looked tough but Godown was hooked up on the outside and ws just too strong as he took the lead in the final laps to post his 5th win of the year. Van Horn came home second, followed by Ron John Koczon in third, Iles fourth and Sammy Piazza completing the top five.

In the second 20 lap feature, pole sitter Billy Pauch Jr. controlled most of the event as he appeared to be the fastest car in the field. Godown started 10th, and fell back to 13th before his charge to the front began around lap 5. The track had changed since the first 20 lapper and Godown changed with it going to the far inside lane, again the opposite of everyone else, and charged to the front. Godown slid under leader Pauch Jr. with just 3 laps remaining and cruised to the 20th win of his career, only the 5th driver to ever reach that mark at New Egypt Speedway.

Clay Butler of Milford, NJ won his second feature of the year at New Egypt in the Sportsman 20 lap feature. Butler grabbed the lead from leader Kevin Vaclavicek and then held off a late race challenge from 3-time defending champ Rocco Infante to win his second of the year. Vaclavicek settled for third followed by Bob Lineman Jr. and Rich Rutski.

Dan Collamer of Waretown, NJ won the 20 lap Outlaw Stock feature. Collamer had the lead by lap 2, but then had to hold off John Carpenter for the remaining 18 laps to record the victory. Billy Wroble had a nice run to finish a close third, with Doug Debray and Bill Liedtka fourth and fifth and also right with the leaders in an exciting race to the finish.

The annual Powder Puff races for the ladies were held with Laura Liedl (Modifieds), Kristina Pratt (Sportsman) and Dayna Ewan (Outlaw Stock) winning their events.

Next Saturday night, Sept. 1, New Egypt Speedway presents Back-to-School Night featuring a full card of FASTRAK Late Models, Tri-State Race Savers 305 Sprint Cars and the Friends of Mike events for the Crate-1 Sportsman and Outlaw Stocks. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.

Then on Labor Day Monday, Sept. 3, it will be the Friends of Mike 100 for the Modifieds paying $10,000 to win. The Sportsman will also hold their Friends of Mike event at this two division show which gets underway at 4pm, with gates opening at 1pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


1st Heat: 1. David Van Horn 2. Chris Grbac 3. Neal Williams 4. Tad Cox 5.
Danny Bouc 6. Dominick Buffalino
2nd Heat: 1. Sam Martz 2. Ryan Godown 3. Billy Pauch Jr. 4. Tommy Carberry Jr. 5. Mike McAleer 6. Tommy Farrell III
3rd Heat: 1. Sammy Piazza 2. Ron John Koczon 3. Dave Witte 4. Billy Pauch 5. Gary Butler 6. Willie Osmun
B-Main: 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. Mike Iles 3. Brad Freeman 4. Rick Holsten 5. John Miloszar 6. Randy Laird
Pts. Prov: Darren McCaughey
Fans Prov: Jimmy Horton

1st Feature (20 Laps): 1. Ryan Godown 2. David Van Horn 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Mike Iles 5. Sammy Piazza 6. Tommy Carberry Jr. 7. Gary Butler 8. Tad Cox 9. Dominick Buffalino 10. Billy Pauch Jr. 11. Neal Williams 12. John Miloszar 13. Willie Osmun 14. Billy Pauch 15. Darren McCaughey 16. Danny Bouc 17. Randy Laird 18. Brad Freeman 19. Chris Grbac 20. Tommy Farrell 21. Jimmy Horton 22. Sam Martz 23. Mike McAleer 24. Rick Holsten 25. Dave Witte 26. Tim Tanner Jr.

2nd Feature (20 laps): 1. Ryan Godown 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Gary Butler 4. Sammy Piazza 5. David Van Horn 6. Jimmy Horton 7. Billy Pauch 8. Willie Osmun 9. Darren McCaughey 10. Tad Cox 11. Neal Williams 12. Tim Tanner Jr. 13. Brad Freeman 14. Rich Kuiken Jr. 15. John Miloszar 16. Dave Witte 17. Mike Iles 18. Dominick Buffalino 19. Tommy Carberry Jr. 20. Ron John Koczon 21. Randy Laird 22. Tommy Farrell 23. Danny Bouc 24. Chris Grbac 25. Sam Martz

DNQ: John Stangle, PJ Oliver, Rich Kuiken Jr., Jesse Kline, Jim Robertson, Tom Carberry Sr.

1st Heat: 1. John Scarpati Jr. 2. Will Dupree 3. Rocco Infante 4. Kevin Vaclavicek 5. Rich Rutski 6. Brian Roemer
2nd Heat: 1. Justin Hoffman 2. Marc Herman 3. Chad Barney 4. Jason Dunn 5. Bob Lineman Jr. 6. Ebby Ridge
3rd Heat: 1. Johnny Cornell 2. Clay Butler 3. Chuck Steuer 4. Jeff Marcucci 5. Mike Howardson 6. Alan Bleacher
B-Main: 1. Mike Butler 2. Randy Yaple 3. Gene Stravinsky 4. Jim Housworth 5. Marty Saxton 6. Melissa Scarpati
Pts. Prov: Mike Lyons

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Clay Butler 2. Rocco Infante 3. Kevin Vaclavicek 4. Bob Lineman Jr. 5. Rich Rutski 6. Mike Howardson 7. Brian Roemer 8. Chad Barney 9. Mike Lyons 10. Mike Butler 11. Jason Dunn 12. Ebby Ridge 13. Gene Stravinsky 14. Marc Herman 15. Jeff Marcucci 16. Chuck Steuer 17. Will Dupree 18. Justin Hoffman 19. Marty Saxton 20. Johnny Cornell 21. Jim Housworth 22. Alan Bleacher 23. John Scarpati 24. Randy Yaple 25. Melissa Scarpati

DNQ: Robin McTighe, JJ Marini, Ryan Simmons

1st Heat: 1. Jason Prater 2. Billy Wroble 3. John Carpenter 4. Chris Allen Sr. 5. Ed Tinsman 6. Spider Ensinger Sr.
2nd Heat: 1. Brian Ludwig 2. Doug Debray 3. Dan Collamer 4. Everett Taylor 5. Bill Liedtka 6. Todd Dige
3rd Heat: 1. Jason Saredy 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Jimmy Avery 4. Ron Freese 5. Tom Princiotta 6. Gary Klimeczak
B Main 1: 1. Bill Connelly 2. Spider Ensinger Jr. 3. Tom Wills Jr. 4. Jarrod Burdge 5. Marty Derr 6. Todd Woodruff

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Dan Collamer 2. John Carpenter 3. Billy Wroble 4. Doug Debray 5. Bill Liedtka 6. Tom Princiotta 7. Gary Klimeczak 8. Spider Ensinger Sr. 9. Todd Dige 10. Spider Ensinger Jr. 11. Bill Connelly 12. Rich Mongeau 13. Jason Prater 14. Tom Wills Jr. 15. Jarrod Burdge 16. Marty Derr 17. Everett Taylor 18. Todd Woodruff 19. Brian Ludwig 20. Jason Saredy 21. Chris Allen Sr. 22. Ron Freese 23. Jimmy Avery 24. Ed Tinsman

DNQ: Joe Reid, Earl Willetts, Art Avery, Ed Tinsman Sr., Lee Allen, Lance Rubins, David Kramer