Chad Barney Wins John Romano Memorial at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (Aug 18, 2012)
–  Chad Barney of Lakewood, NJ won his first feature of the season at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap John Romano Memorial event. Barney swept to the lead early and then held off a late race charge by 3 time defending champ Rocco Infante for his first win in over two years. In a nice coincidence, Barney was driving his #84, the same number that John Romano campaigned his entire career.

Marc Herman was the early leader of the race as he quickly grabbed the lead at the start and pulled away from the field. Herman had things under control for the first 8 laps as Barney worked his way into second. A restart would prove to be Herman’s undoing, as Barney got a great run into turn one, grabbing the lead in what proved to be the winning move. By halfway Rocco Infante had come all the way from the back of the pack to third and he then moved past Herman for the runnerup spot. Everyone expected Infante, a former winner of this race, to run down Barney for the lead. However Barney had other ideas as he had the field covered on this night taking the third win of his career. Infante and Herman chased him across the line, followed by Randy Yaple in fourth and Jim Housworth in fifth.

Sportsman point leader Clay Butler won the Crate Sportsman 20 lap main event. Jeremy Martino raced home second followed by Jarrett Rozycki, Ron Barnstead and Ryan Simmons.

In the Hilborn Fuel Injection Tri-State Race Saver 305 Sprint Series Mike Haggenbottom of Pendel, PA captured his second event at New Egypt in their 20-lap A Main. The race was a barn burner as Phil Meisner, Jr. Kyle Reinhardt and Joe Lord all raced across the finish line on the back bumper of Haggenbottom in a real fan pleaser. Joey Allen crossed the line fifth.

Bill Liedtka took top honors in the Outlaw Stock main event for the second time this season. Liedtka got by race long leader Ron Freese with just 2 laps left to spoil Freese’s bid for his first career win at NES. Freese held on for second, followed by John Carpenter, Billy Wroble and Tom Wills Jr.

This Tuesday August 21st it will be Jersey Rush, as the Central PA Posse 410 Sprints invade New Egypt Speedway for the only time this year. They will be joined on the card by the Modifieds. Gates open at 5pm, Warmups are at 7pm and the first race will go green at 7:30pm.

Next Saturday August 25th it is Beach Party night and Powder Puffs at New Egypt Speedway. Modifieds will headline the show running the fan favorite Twin 20 lap features. Sportsman and Outlaw Stocks will complete the card. Gates open at 4pm, with the first race at 6pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


1st Heat: 1. Rich Rutski 2. Rocco Infante 3. Mike Howardson 4. Kevin Vaclavicek 5. Bob Lineman Jr. 6. Mike Hendershot
2nd Heat: 1. Chad Barney 2. Randy Yaple 3. Johnny Cornell 4. Clay Butler 5. Gene Stravinsky 6. Mike Butler
3rd Heat: 1. Mike Lyons 2. Jim Housworth 3. DJ Ruppert 4. Marc Herman 5. Will Dupree 6. Justin Hoffman
B Main: 1.Jason Kosch 2. Ebby Ridge 3. Chris Lane 4. Tim Apgar 5. Steve Davis 6. Jeff Marcucci 7. Bill Liedtka
Pts. Prov: Alan Bleacher

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Chad Barney 2. Rocco Infante 3. Marc Herman 4. Randy Yaple 5. Jim Housworth 6. Mike Howardson 7. Rich Rutski 8. Clay Butler 9. Tim Apgar 10. Jeff Marcucci 11. Bob Lineman Jr. 12. Alan Bleacher 13. Jason Kosch 14. Justin Hoffman 15. Johnny Cornell 16. Mike Butler 17. Chris Lane 18. Kevin Vaclavicek 19. DJ Ruppert 20. Mike Lyons 21. Will Dupree 22. Ebby Ridge 23. Gene Stravinsky 24. Steve Davis 25. Bill Liedtka
DNS: Mike Hendershot

DNQ: Andy Visinski, Jason Dunn, Ryan Simmons, Brian Roemer, John Scarpati Jr.

1st Heat: 1. Joe Dill 2. Clay Butler 3. Jordan Henn 4. Ryan Simmons 5. Kyle Bostick 6. John Aumick
2nd Heat: 1. Brian Papiez 2. Jon Haegele 3. Frank Dorry 4. Jarrett Rozycki 5. Bob Rambone 6. Mike Everett
3rd Heat: 1. Matt McAnally 2. Mike Carman 3. John Micek 4. Jeremy Martino 5. Jordan Cox 6. Ron Barnstead
B Main: 1. Chuck Steuer 2. Matt Carman 3. Eric Palmer 4. Jesse Dill 5. Steve Hicks 6. Adam Cox 7. Mark Clauss
Pts. Prov: Bryan Kuhl

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Clay Butler 2. Jeremy Martino 3. Jarrett Rozycki 4. Ron Barnstead 5. Ryan Simmons 6. John Micek 7. Matt McAnally 8. Jordan Henn 9. Frank Dorry 10. Jordan Cox 11. Jon Haegele 12. Matt Carman 13. Chuck Steuer 14. Brian Papiez 15. Bryan Kuhl 16. John Aumick 17. Kyle Bostick 18. Adam Cox 19. Steve Hicks 20. Eric Palmer 21. Bob Rambone 22. John Scarpati 23. Mike Carman 24. Mark Clauss
DNS: Joe Dill, Jesse Dill, Doug Urbano

DNQ: Scott Lamantia, Mike Everett, Scott Doty

1st Heat: 1. Stephanie Palmai 2. Tim Tanner Jr. 3. Joe Lord 4. Adam Carberry 5. Rick Stief
2nd Heat: 1. Gary Berkenstock 2. Phil Meisner Jr. 3. Kyle Reinhardt 4. Ryan Smith 5. Bruce Kindberg
3rd Heat: 1. Brian Carber 2. Kyle Purks 3. Jimmy Carpenter 4. Bill Case Jr. 5. Steve Wilson
4th Heat: 1. Mike Haggenbottom 2. Joey Allen 3. Eddie Wagner 4. Bobby Devault 5. Mike Esposito
1st B Main: 1. Keith McIntyre Jr. 2. Craig Rochelle 3. Erica Palmai
2nd B Main: 1. Jeff Schall 2. David Martin 3. Ed Newhouser

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Mike Haggenbottom 2. Phil Meisner Jr. 3. Kyle Reinhardt 4. Joe Lord 5. Joey Allen 6. Tim Tanner Jr. 7. Jeff Schall 8. Rick Stief 9. Brian Carber 10. Bobby Devault 11. Stephanie Palmai 12. Jimmy Carpenter 13. Adam Carberry 14. Bill Case 15. David Martin 16. Ryan Smith 17. Keith McIntyre Jr. 18. Ian Borden 19. Ed Newhouser 20. Erica Palmai 21. Kyle Purks 22. Mike Esposito 23. Eddie Wagner 24. Gary Berkenstock 25. Steve Wilson 26. Bruce Kindberg 27. Craig Rochelle

DNQ: Keith Anderson, Hank Katz, Dave Brown Jr., Scott Frack, Brock Bilger, Rick Homan, Jon Haegele, Pat Freiberger, Harris Kohen

1st Heat: 1. Billy Wroble 2. Ron Freese 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Tom Princiotta 5. Chris Halstead 6. Everett Taylor
2nd Heat: 1. Bill Liedtka 2. John Carpenter 3. Chris Allen Sr. 4. Jason Prater 5. Gary Klimeczak 6. Tom Wills Jr.
3rd Heat: 1. Dan Collamer 2. Jarrod Burdge 3. Jason Saredy 4. Doug Debray 5. Jimmy Avery 6. Marty Derr
B Main: 1. Spider Ensinger Sr. 2. Jim Hewitt 3. Tom Wills Sr. 4. Joe Reid 5. Ed Tinsman Sr. 6. Todd Woodruff

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Bill Liedtka 2. Ron Freese 3. John Carpenter 4. Billy Wroble 5. Tom Wills Jr. 6. Gary Klimeczak 7. Doug Debray 8. Tom Princiotta 9. Jarrod Burdge 10. Everett Taylor 11. Brian Ludwig 12. Dan Collamer 13. Jason Saredy 14. Jim Hewitt 15. Spider Ensinger Sr. 16. Tom Wills Sr. 17. Jason Prater 18. Todd Woodruff 19. Jimmy Avery 20. Chris Allen Sr. 21. Marty Derr 22. Joe Reid 23. Ed Tinsman Sr. 24. Chris Halstead

DNQ: Art Avery, Goop Mondelli, Earl Willetts, Lee Allen, Ed Tinsman, Charlie Gunner