Piazza Captures Career First, Godown Steals Stangle’s Thunder at NES
New Egypt, NJ (July 14, 2012) – Sammy Piazza of Lawrenceville, NJ and Ryan Godown of Ringoes, NJ were both victorious at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night in the Twin 25 lap Modified features on Christmas in July sponsored by Advantage Financial Mortgage Bankers. Piazza won the first Modified event of his young career in the first 25 lap event, the make-up of last week’s race that was curfewed. In the nightcap, Godown drove under race long leader John Stangle in the final turn to steal away Stangle’s bid for his first ever victory. It was Godown’s 4th win of the season.

Sammy Piazza grabbed the lead early in the first event over Darren McCaughey and Tim Tanner. Piazza was the class of the field early in this event as he raced out to almost a straightaway lead two different times. A scary moment occurred just 10 laps into the event when Billy Pauch’s car burst into a ball of flames on the front stretch. Pauch being the veteran he is, drove the car around the track and stopped right at the fire truck where the huge fire was extinguished quickly with Pauch exiting his badly damaged car uninjured. Point-leader Ryan Godown had started 11th and was steadily advancing thru the field getting into second place with 8 laps to go. Godown closed the gap on Piazza each lap and was about 2 car lengths behind when Ron John Koczon stopped on the backstretch bringing out the yellow with one lap remaining. The final restart proved to be routine for the young Piazza as he just simply drove away from Godown to record the popular victory, the first of his career. Godown settled for second and Sam Martz crossed the line third alongside of Godown. Willie Osmun and Tanner completed the top five.

In the regularly scheduled 25 lapper, John Stangle powered by polesitter David Van Horn at the start to take command of the event as Neal Williams chased after him.  This duo pulled away from the rest of the field during the first half of the event with only one caution slowing the action. Ryan Godown was coming up from the back and was chasing down and passing each car and when he entered the top five everyone began to take notice. He marched steadily up to third and then got by Williams for second with 10 laps remaining. Stangle however was an all together different challenge. Catching him was not a problem, but once Godown was on his bumper he could not find enough power to get alongside of the leader. Entering turn two on the final lap, Stangle bobbled ever so slightly losing a little momentum. This was the opening Godown had been looking for with his relentless pressure and he pulled up under Stangle on the backstretch. The two raced thru turns 3 & 4 side by side, and as trhe duo ecited turn four Godown got the bite he was looking for down against the inside guardrail and out dragged Stangle to the checkered. Williams held on for a solid third followed by Billy Pauch and Darren McCaughey.

Gene Stravinsky of New Egypt, NJ won his first event of 2012 at New Egypt in the Sportsman 20 lap feature. Stravinsky picked the night he was sponsoring the festivities of Christmas in July to shine as he outlasted a fast Bob Lineman Jr. for the victory. Point leader Clay Butler finished third, defending champ Rocco Infante was fourth and Mike Hendershot was fifth.

Gary Klimeczak of Chatsworth, NJ inherited the victory in the 20 lap Outlaw Stock feature, his first in 4 years. Doug Debray crossed the line first for what appeared to be his second career win, however his car was found to be too light when weighed immediately after the event giving Klimeczak the win. For Klimeczak it was his 12th career win, tying him with John Carpenter for first all-time. Jarrod Burdge came home second, followed by Tom Princiotta, Jason Saredy and Bill Liedtka.

Next Saturday night, July 21, New Egypt Speedway presents Bike Night. The racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Crate-1 Sportsman, FASTRAK Late Models, and the Tri-State Race Savers 305 Sprint Cars. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Make-up Feature from 7/7 (25 laps): 1. Sammy Piazza 2. Ryan Godown 3. Sam Martz 4. Willie Osmun 5. Tim Tanner Jr. 6. Darren McCaughey 7. Tad Cox 8. Johnny Guarino 9. Dave Hunt 10. Dominick Buffalino 11. Richie Pratt Jr. 12. Jimmy Horton 13. David Van Horn 14. Mike McAleer 15. Tommy Carberry Jr. 16. Ron John Koczon 17. Gary Butler 18. Randy Laird 19. Robbie Nixon 20. Billy Pauch 21. Tom Carberry 22. John Stangle 23. Bob Lineman Jr. 24. Dave Witte 25. Billy Pauch Jr. 26. Chris Grbac
Qualified – Not in Attendance: Jimmy Blewett, John McClelland, Eric Kormann

1st Heat: 1. Richie Pratt Jr. 2. Tommy Carberry Jr. 3. Johnny Guarino 4. Ron John Koczon 5. Sammy Piazza 6. Sam Martz
2nd Heat: 1. Tom Carberry 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. David Van Horn 4. Ryan Godown 5. Willie Osmun 6. Tim Tanner Jr.
3rd Heat: 1. Neal Williams 2. Jimmy Horton 3. John Stangle 4. Darren McCaughey 5. Billy Pauch 6. Dave Witte
B Main: 1. Billy Pauch Jr. 2. Tad Cox 3. Gary Butler 4. Mike McAleer 5. Sean Gunther 6. Randy Laird
Pts. Prov.: Rich Acolia
Fans Prov.: PJ Oliver

Feature (25 Laps): 1. Ryan Godown 2. John Stangle 3. Neal Williams 4. Billy Pauch 5. Darren McCaughey 6. David Van Horn 7. Willie Osmun 8. Ron John Koczon 9. Dominick Buffalino 10. Sam Martz 11. Billy Pauch Jr. 12. Tad Cox 13. Jimmy Horton 14. Johnny Gaurino 15. Sammy Piazza 16. Richie Pratt Jr. 17. Dave Witte 18. Mike McAleer 19. Tommy Carberry Jr. 20. Gary Butler 21. Randy Laird 22. Tim Tanner Jr. 23. Sean Gunther 24. PJ Oliver 25. Rich Acolia 26. Tom Carberry

DNQ: Robbie Nixon, Dave Hunt, Chris Grbac, Danny Bouc, Mike Lyons, Brad Freeman

1st Heat: 1. Mike Hendershot 2. Mike Butler 3. Mike Lyons 4. Ebby Ridge 5. Alan Bleacher 6. Marc Herman
2nd Heat: 1. Gene Stravinsky 2. Chris Lane 3. Jason Dunn 4. Brian Roemer 5. Rich Rutski 6. John Cornell III
3rd Heat: 1. Will Dupree 2. Chad Barney 3. Bob Lineman Jr. 4. Mike Howardson 5. Rocco Infante 6. DJ Ruppert
B-Main: 1. Clay Butler 2. Jim Housworth 3. Kevin Vaclavicek 4. Randy Yaple 5. Steve Davis 6. Ryan Simmons
Pts. Prov: Jeff Marcucci

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Gene Stravinsky 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Clay Butler 4. Rocco Infante 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Will Dupree 7. Mike Howardson 8. Steve Davis 9. Mike Butler 10. Ebby Ridge 11. Chad Barney 12. Kevin Vaclavicek 13. Mike Lyons 14. Marc Herman 15. John Cornell III 16. Ryan Simmons 17. Chris Lane 18. Jeff Marcucci 19. Alan Bleacher 20. Jim Housworth 21. Randy Yaple 22. Jason Dunn 23. Rich Rutski 24. DJ Ruppert 25. Brian Roemer 26. Jim Long

DNQ: Bill Liedtka, Jason Kosch, Robin McTighe, Marty Saxton, John Scarpati Jr., Ansdy Visinski

1st Heat: 1. Chris Allen Sr. 2. Billy Wroble 3. Jason Saredy 4. Todd Woodruff 5. Jarrod Burdge 6. Doug Bates
2nd Heat: 1. Doug Debray 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Gary Klimeczak 4. Bill Connolly 5. John Carpenter 6. Tom Wills Jr.
3rd Heat: 1. Jimmy Avery 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Ron Freese 4. Everett Taylor 5. Tom Princiotta 6. Dan Collamer
B Main 1: 1. Joe Reid 2. Rob Longo 3. Jason Prater 4. Tom Wills Sr. 5. Art Avery

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Gary Klimeczak 2. Jarrod Burdge 3. Tom Princiotta 4. Jason Saredy 5. Bill Liedtka 6. Billy Wroble 7. Jason Prater 8. Bill Connolly 9. Jimmy Avery 10. Everett Taylor 11. Dan Collamer 12. Tom Wills Sr. 13. Ron Freese 14. Joe Reid 15. Rob Longo 16. Todd Woodruff 17. Doug Bates 18. Tom Wills Jr. 19. Art Avery 20. John Carpenter 21. Brian Ludwig 22. Chris Allen Sr. DQ: Doug Debray

DNQ: Spider Ensinger Sr., Vern McLaughlin