Osmun Beats All Odds to Win Career Second at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (June 23, 2012)
– Willie Osmun of Bloomsbury, NJ took top honors at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night in the 30 lap Modified feature sponsored by C & M Automotive Warehouse. Osmun was on his game as he beat the competition and the unusually challenging track conditions caused by the heavy rain the night before.

“I lost the brakes on that last restart and I thought we were going to give this one away,” stated a relieved Osmun in victory lane, “The track tonight was the exact opposite of what I usually like, but the car worked well and it all worked out for us.”

Sammy Piazza was the early leader of the event as he set a quick pace. Osmun quickly got to second and began moving in on Piazza to challenge for the top spot. Osmun overtook Piazza on lap 6 and immediately raced to comfortable lead with Piazza the only car able to keep pace with him as the duo pulled away from the field and raced into lapped traffic. With 10 laps to go Piazza found himself being hounded by Mike McAleer who was making a late race charge while Billy Pauch moved into fifth position after starting 15th. The last caution of the event was displayed with just 6 laps remaining, and during this slow down Piazza and Pauch both ducked into the pit area with flat tires on their mounts. This put McAleer on the back bumper of Osmun setting up a potential challenge, and as the green was displayed McAleer gave Osmun everything he had. However Osmun just had too much for him as he raced to the victory by three car lengths. McAleer settled for a hard earned second while Dave Witte came home third. John McClelland crossed the line fourth and Billy Pauch Jr. rounded out the top five.

Brain Roemer of Flemington, NJ won his second feature event at New Egypt in the Sportsman 20 lap feature. Roemer got to the lead by halfway and raced to the popular victory over the all-time win leader and three time defending champ Rocco Infante. Bob Lineman Jr. raced home third followed by DJ Ruppert and Mike Howardson.

The Sportsman started the night off with the make-up of their 20 lap feature that was rained out on April 28th. In that event Rocco Infante of Robbinsville, NJ won his second feature of the season and the 29th of his career by a comfortable margin. Mike Lyons who had started deep in the pack made a spirited run to finish second. Johnny Cornell finished third ahead of Alan Bleacher and Kevin Vaclavicek.

Point leader Dan Collamer of Waretown, NJ won the 20 lap Outlaw Stock feature. Collamer was able to get by leader Brian Ludwig with just over a lap to go in heavy lapped traffic, spoiling Ludwig’s bid for his first win in over 4 years. Bill Liedtka, John Carpenter and Doug Debray completed the top five.

The HCI/SpikeNGO Rookie Sportsman feature event was won again by Jesse Dill. For Dill, it was his 8th win of the season, tying the Rookie record for the most wins in a season. Dill got a timely caution flag with 2 laps to go and took full advantage of it as he squeezed by Lauren Emmons in turn two spoiling her bid for her first ever win. Emmons settled for second and Scott Doty was third.

Next Saturday night, June 30, New Egypt Speedway presents Graduation Night as the HCI/SpikeNGo Rookie Sportsman series will crown their champion in a 12 lap double point event and graduate into the regular Sportsman and Crate-1 Sportsman classes. The racing will also feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Crate-1 Sportsman, FASTRAK Late Models, and the Tri-State Race Savers 305 Sprint Cars. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


1st Heat: 1. Sam Martz 2. David Van Horn 3. Sammy Piazza 4. Ryan Godown 5. Mike McAleer 6. Darren McCaughey
2nd Heat: 1. Danny Bouc 2. Willie Osmun 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Mike Iles 5. Dominick Buffalino 6. Dave Witte
3rd Heat: 1. John McClelland 2. Billy Pauch 3. Billy Pauch Jr. 4. Tad Cox 5. Neal Williams 6. Brad Freeman

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Willie Osmun 2. Mike McAleer 3. Dave Witte 4. John McClelland 5. Billy Pauch Jr. 6. Danny Bouc 7. Ron John Koczon 8. Tim Tanner Jr. 9. Ryan Godown 10. Tom Carberry 11. Sam Martz 12. Sammy Piazza 13. Billy Pauch 14. Tommy Farrell III 15. Tad Cox 16. Dominick Buffalino 17. Mike Iles 18. Neal Williams 19. Tommy Carberry Jr. 20. Bob Drayton 21. Darren McCaughey 22. Brad Freeman 23. David Van Horn

DNQ: None

Make-up Feature (From 4/28) (20 Laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. Mike Lyons 3. John Cornell III 4. Alan Bleacher 5. Kevin Vaclavicek 6. Ebby Ridge 7. Brian Roemer 8. DJ Ruppert 9. Tim Apgar 10. Mike Howardson 11. Marc Herman 12. Jim Housworth 13. Jeff Marcucci 14. Steve Davis 15. Mike Butler 16. Will Dupree 17. Bill Liedtka 18. Doug Urbano 19. Chad Barney 20. Chris Lane 21. Clay Butler 22. Bob Lineman Jr. 23. Mike Hendershot 24. Rich Rutski 25. Gene Stravinsky 26. Justin Hoffman

1st Heat: 1. Jeff Marcucci 2. Marc Herman 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Alan Bleacher 5. Joe Systo
2nd Heat: 1. Brian Roemer 2. Mike Hendershot 3. Mike Lyons 4. Kevin Vaclavicek 5. Glenn Knell
3rd Heat: 1. Ebby Ridge 2. Randy Yaple 3. DJ Ruppert 4. Mike Butler 5. Bob Lineman Jr.
4th Heat: Clay Butler 2. Rocco Infante 3. Mike Howardson 4. Rich Rutski 5. John Cornell III
B-Main 1: 1. Chad Barney 2. Will Dupree
B-Main 2: 1. Chris Lane 2. Tim Apgar
Pts. Prov: Jim Housworth & Gene Stravinsky

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Brian Roemer 2. Rocco Infante 3. Bob Lineman Jr. 4. DJ Ruppert 5. Mike Howardson 6. Kevin Vaclavicek 7. Clay Butler 8. Jeff Marcucci 9. Rich Rutski 10. Mike Lyons 11. Gene Stravinsky 12. Tim Apgar 13. Chris Lane 14. Jim Housworth 15. Will Dupree 16. Marc Herman 17. Joe Systo 18. John Cornell III 19. Ryan Simmons 20. Paul Crosley 21. Glenn Knell 22. Chad Barney 23. Mike Hendershot 24. Alan Bleacher 25. Randy Yaple 26. Ebby Ridge 27. Mike Butler

DNQ: Adam Cox, Marty Saxton, John Marini Jr., Andy Visinski, Melissa Scarpati, Jason Dunn, Doug Urbano, Bryan Kuhl, Jason Kosch, Robin McTighe, Bill Liedtka, Justin Hoffman, John Scarpati Jr.

1st Heat: 1. Chris Allen Sr. 2. Kevin Bifulco 3. Todd Woodruff 4. John Carpenter 5. Ron Freese 6. Rich Mongeau
2nd Heat: 1. Brian Ludwig 2. Dan Collamer 3. Billy Wroble 4. Jimmy Avery 5. Gary Klimeczak 6. Evertt Taylor
3rd Heat: 1. Spider Ensinger Jr. 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Bill Connelly 4. Tom Wills Jr. 5. Doug Debray 6. Jarrod Burdge
B Main: 1. Darren Cox 2. Tom Princiotta 3. Jason Prater 4. Ed Tinsman 5. Jason Saredy 6. Jim Hewitt

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Dan Collamer 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Bill Liedtka 4. John Carpenter 5. Doug Debray 6. Jason Saredy 7. Rich Mongeau 8. Everett Taylor 9. Ron Freese 10. Gary Klimeczak 11. Tom Princiotta 12. Billy Wroble 13. Kevin Bifulco 14. Bill Connelly 15. Tom Wills Jr. 16. Todd Woodruff 17. Jason Prater 18. Jimmy Avery 19. Jim Hewitt 20. Darren Cox 21. Chris Allen Sr. 22. Ed Tinsman 23. Spider Ensinger Jr. 24. Jarrod Burdge

DNQ: Spider Ensinger Sr., Joe Reid, Art Avery, Goop Mondelli, Vern McLaughlin, Earl Willetts, Ed Tinsman Sr., Charlie Gunner

Feature (8 Laps): 1. Jesse Dill 2. Lauren Emmons 3. Scott Doty 4, Melissa Scarpati