McCaughey Wins First Feature in 8 Years at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (June 2, 2012)
–  Darren McCaughey of New Egypt, NJ won his first feature in over 8 years at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap main event on Scout night.  McCaughey took command from Tommy Farrell on lap 8 and then held off Billy Pauch and Sam Martz for the very popular victory.

“I never thought I would ever be here in victory lane again!” stated a surprised but jubilant McCaughey, “Norm and Jeff Saxton put this deal together so we could have some fun and here we are…unbelievable!”

Tommy Farrell led the field to green and immediately took control leading the first 8 laps, with McCaughey and Danny Bouc battling side by side for second. Tim Tanner then flexed his muscle as he challenged McCaughey for second racing side by side. Lap after lap clicked by with McCaughey pulling up alongside of Farrell as the top 6 cars were all right there looking for the lead. McCaughey finally got the bite he was looking for as he charged by Farrell to lead lap 8 and take command. Sam Martz was on the move and he quickly took over second and tried to chase McCaughey down. At halfway Pauch was just moving into 8th position, but by lap 20 his was in sixth and chasing after the leaders. Over the next 5 laps Martz began to significantly cut down McCaughey’s lead as Pauch charged into third. Martz was within 5 car lengths of the lead with five laps to go when the outside groove he was using began to change, reducing his traction when the yellow came out for the final time for Mike McAleer who spun in turn four. The restart saw Pauch get Martz for second and pull right up on the McCaughey’s rear bumper, but McCaughey held his line, and was able to hold off the five time track champ for his first win since April of 2004, the fifth win of his career. Pauch settled for a hard earned second with Martz again turning in another big performance finishing third. Tanner came home fourth and Bouc rounded out the top five.

Matt Carman of Flemington, NJ earned his first career Crate Sportsman victory in the 20 lap feature. Carman, who moved up from Rookies while leading the Rookie points 4 weeks ago, proved his decision was a good one by taking the win over Jeff Geiges and Eric Palmer. Jordan Henn finished fourth however came up light on the scales following the race, moving Bryan Papiez up to fourth and Frank Dorry to fifth in the final rundown.

The Tri-State Race Saver 305 Sprint Series again came down to the final lap, as Mike Haggenbottom of Levittown, PA held off a late charge by Art Liedl in lapped traffic to win the first feature of his career at NES. After leading the whole race for the second straight time, Haggenbottom was bound and determined not to lose on the last lap again this time, as he found a way by a final lapped car in the final turn, beating Liedl by only half a car length at the stripe. Liedl was second with Kyle Reinhardt third, Bob Devault fourth and Mike Esposito was fifth.

Jesse Dill of Whiting, NJ took top honors in the HCI/Spike-N-Go Rookie Sportsman feature event for the fifth time, his third in a row. Melissa Scarpati came home in second while Lauren Emmons was third.

In the twin Fastrak Late Model 12-lap features, PJ Oliver of Cream Ridge, NJ and Rob Ormsbee of Wall, NJ split the 12 lap events. Oliver drove an excellent race in the first event beating the point leader Ormsbee and Cody Dawson. Ormsbee came back in the nightcap to win his 8th of the year, trailed by Alessa Young in her best drive ever and Tony Giglio was third.

The NEETS Small Car Enduro was won by Pat Hires. Hires bested Robby Dunn and Todd Francis in the 50 lap event.

This Thursday June 7th, The Amsoil USAC National Wingless Sprint Series will make it’s only NJ appearance of 2012. It will be a two division show with the Big-Block Modifieds joining the National Sprint series on the card. Gates will open at 5pm, with the first race at 7:30pm.

Next Saturday June 9 New Egypt Speedway will give the Modifieds the week off as the Sportsman will get a chance to headline the show sponsored by Normandy Realty. Sportsman will run a 30-lap double point event, joined on the card by the TSRS 305 Sprint Cars Regional National event. The HCI/SpikenGo Rookies and the Outlaw Stocks will also be in competition, and the end of the night will also see a NEETS Big Car Enduro and a demolition derby.  Racing gets underway at 6pm, with gates opening at 4pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


1st Heat: 1. Danny Bouc 2. Sam Martz 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Dave Witte 5. Billy Pauch Jr. 6. Mike McAleer
2nd Heat: 1. Neal Williams 2. David Van Horn 3. Billy Pauch 4. Tommy Farrell III 5. Sammy Piazza 6. Rick Holsten
3rd Heat: 1. Darren McCaughey 2. Tad Cox 3. John McClelland 4. Ryan Godown 5. Willie Osmun 6. Tim Tanner Jr.

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Darren McCaughey 2. Billy Pauch 3. Sam Martz 4. Tim Tanner Jr. 5. Danny Bouc 6. Tad Cox 7. Ron John Koczon 8. Ryan Godown 9. David Van Horn 10. Sammy Piazza 11. Neal Williams 12. Rick Holsten 13. Willie Osmun 14. John Stangle 15. Tommy Farrell III 16. Chris Grbac 17. John Miloszar 18. Mike McAleer 19. Billy Pauch Jr. 20. John McClelland 21. Dominick Buffalino 22. Doug Ostwald 23. Dave Witte DNS: Brad Freeman

DNQ: None

1st Heat: 1. Adam Cox 2. Jordan Henn 3. Scott Hylund 4. Bryan Papiez 5. Felix Verlangieri 6. Steve Ramsey
2nd Heat: 1. Matt Carman 2. Eric Palmer 3. Jarrett Rozycki 4. Steve Hicks 5. Doug Urbano 6. Jeremy Martino
3rd Heat: 1. Joe Dill 2. Ryan Simmons 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Mike Everett 5. Jeff Geiges 6. Jon Haegele
B Main: 1. Chuck Steuer 2. John Aumick 3. Frank Dorry 4. John Micek 5. Mike Carmen 6. Mark Clauss
Pts. Provisional: Jordan Cox

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Matt Carman 2. Jeff Geiges 3. Eric Palmer 4. Bryan Papiez 5. Frank Dorry 6. John Micek 7. Mike Carman 8. Steve Hicks 9. Jarrett Rozycki 10. Adam Cox 11. John Aumick 12. Doug Urbano 13. Bryan Kuhl 14. Steve Ramsey 15. Jeremy Martino 16. Scott Hylund 17. Ryan Simmons 18. Mike EVerett 19. Mark Clauss 20. Chuck Steuer 21. Jon Haegele 22. Jordan Cox 23. Jesse Dill 24. Felix Verlangieri 25. Joe Dill DQ: Jordan Henn

DNQ: Matt McAnally, Bob Rambone, Scott Lamontia, Melissa Scarpati, Curt Krazier, Ron Barnstead, Lauren Emmons

1st Heat: 1. Jonathan Swanson 2. Kyle Reinhardt 3. Ian Borden 4. Bill Case Jr. 5. Keith McIntyre Jr. 6. Brian Pomponio
2nd Heat: 1. Jeff Mueller 2. Mike Esposito 3. George Loux 4. Bobby Devault 5. Ed Newhouser 6. Kyle Purks
3rd Heat: 1. Stephanie Stevens 2. Art Liedl 3. Mike Haggenbottom 4. Joe Lord 5. Eddie Wagner 6. Phil Meisner Jr.
B Main: 1. Brian Carber 2. Jimmy Carpenter 3. Jeff Schall 4. Rick Stief 5. Chris Allen Jr. 6. Adam Carberry

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Mike Haggenbottom 2. Art Liedl 3. Kyle Reinhardt 4. Bobby Devault 5. Mike Esposito 6. Jeff Mueller 7. Joe Lord 8. Ian Borden 9. Jeff Schall 10. Phil Meisner Jr. 11. Brian Carber 12. Keith McIntyre Jr. 13. Jonathan Swanson 14. Ed Newhouser 15. Bill Case Jr. 16. Kyle Purks 17. Chris Allen Jr. 18. Adam Carberry 19. Rick Stief 20. Eddie Wagner 21. Stephanie Stevens 22. George Loux 23. Brian Pomponio 24. Jimmy Carpenter

DNQ: Torrey Rose, Sean Campbell, Jamie Kostic, Rick Homan, Dean Schaffer, Erica Palmai, Harris Cohen

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. P.J. Oliver 2. Rob Ormsbee 3. Cody Dawson 4. Tony Giglio 5. Skip Syester 6. DJ Macri 7. Alessa Young 8. Al Burdge

Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Alessa Young 3. Tony Giglio 4. DJ Macri 5. Cody Dawson 6. Skip Syester 7. PJ Oliver 8. Al Burdge

Feature (8 Laps): 1. Jesse Dill 2. Melissa Scarpati 3. Lauren Emmons 4. Kimee Ling

NEETS SMALL CAR ENDURO (50 laps): 1. Pat Hires 2. Robby Dunn 3. Todd Francis 4. Walter McIntyre 5. Mike Wahl 6. Kenny Wallace 7. Mike Dorrer 8. Brian Crosby 9. Jay Conrad 10. Kevin Hirschfeld 11. Justin Dunn 12. Scott Dunn 13. Mike Dunn