Van Horn Wins First in New Egypt Thriller

New Egypt, NJ (Sept. 10, 2011)
– David Van Horn of Harmony, NJ won his first feature of the year at the New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap Modified main event on 911/First Responders Tribute Night sponsored by Bob Drayton, Inc. Van Horn wrestled the lead away from Jimmy Horton just 2 laps before halfway and then held off a late race charge from Horton and sponsor Bobby Drayton to score the exciting victory.

The start was a sign of things to come as 7th starting David Van Horn charged up to second behind pole sitter Mike Franz as they completed the opening lap. Jimmy Horton had looked fast in his heat and wasted no time charging around the out side of the top two to take command just one lap later. Horton opened up a slight advantage over Van Horn, however DVH was not going to settle in as he chased down Horton in just 2 laps. The next 9 laps saw the crowd on their feet almost constantly as Van Horn consistently drove under, and sometimes past, Horton in each corner only to see Horton storm back around the outside to hold the lead. A lap 13 restart would be the turning point of this battle as leader Horton chose to take Van Horn’s lane away by restarting on the inside of the front row rather than the outside lane he had been using up to that point. Van Horn then showed that his car would work anywhere on the speedway as he charged into the lead as the green flag was displayed. After halfway, Van Horn opened up about 5 car lengths over Horton while 19th starting Bobby Drayton had his family and friends in the sponsor’s box cheering wildly as he entered the battle for the lead passing Horton for second with 11 laps remaining. Drayton then quickly ran down Van Horn pulling alongside the leader with 6 laps to go as they approached lapped traffic. Drayton first tried Van Horn on the far outside where he had been racing to the front successfully, however Van Horn only had to see that once before he moved up and took that groove away in the next turn. Drayton then started trying to dive under Van Horn actually getting by several times only to see Van Horn use his momentum to drive back by. With the two-laps-to-go sign being given, Horton shocked everyone by flying by both of the leaders on the outside entering turn one. Van Horn quickly was able to sneak under a lapped car and get back under Horton entering turn 3 and Drayton split thru two lapped cars and dove under Horton to get second back and not let Van Horn get away as they exited turn 4 for the white flag. The final lap saw Drayton build his speed for one final slingshot attempt in Turn four, but he was only able to get his front wheels under Van Horn as DVH held everyone off for his first win of 2011. Drayton put on quite a show for everyone one his sponsors night settling for a hard earned second. Horton was right on the top two cars back bumper for third as he continues to be hot the second half of the season. Tad Cox quietly closed in  on the top three over the final five laps to finish fourth just 4 car lengths behind. Richie Pratt, Jr. had a very strong run as he crossed the line in fifth.

Rocco Infante of Robbinsville, NJ won his third feature of the season in the 20 lap Sportsman main event. The two-time defending champion started 17th taking the lead at the halfway mark from Brian Roemer and never looked back. The win was Infante’s division leading 24th career Sportsman victory. Paul Kline posted his best finish at NES so far with a second place run in just his sixth start. Roemer held on for third followed by DJ Ruppert and Mike Howardson in fifth.

Doug Debray of Somerville, NJ won the Outlaw Stock feature for the first time in his career Saturday night. Dan Collamer threw everything he could muster at him but had to settle for second at the finish. Brian Ludwig was third, Ken Snook finished fourth and former champ Gary Klimeczak finished fifth.

Next Saturday night, Sept. 17, Lawrenceville Ford Lincoln Mercury will present the Championship Challenge. Sportsman and Crate-1 Sportsman will headline the racing card joined by the Outlaw Stocks and the Fastrak Late Models. All 4 of these divisions will decide the 2011 champions as they will compete for double points in each of their feature events. The TSRS 305 Sprint Cars will also be in action as they continue their 2011 series. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Heat 1: 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Mike McAleer 3. Wade Hendrickson 4. Danny Bouc 5. David Van Horn 6. Mike Franz
Heat 2: 1. Rick Holsten 2. Rick Laubach 3. Willie Osmun 4. Richie Pratt Jr. 5. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 6. Gary Butler
Heat 3: 1. Jimmy Horton 2. Billy Pauch 3. John Miloszar 4. Sam Martz 5. Tad Cox 6. Tim Tanner Jr.
Consi: 1. Bob Drayton 2. John McClelland 3. Rich Acolia 4. Darren McCaughey 5. Bucky Kell 6. Tommy Farrell III 7. Scott Irwin 8. Brad Freeman
Fans Provisional: Dave Hunt & Johnny Guarino

Feature (30 Laps): 1. David Van Horn 2. Bob Drayton 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Tad Cox 5. Richie Pratt Jr. 6. Sam Martz 7. Billy Pauch 8. Danny Bouc 9. Dominick Buffalino 10. Rick Laubach 11. Wade Hendrickson 12. John McClelland 13. Rick Holsten 14. Tim Tanner Jr. 15. Gary Butler 16. Darren McCaughey 17. John Miloszar 18. Mike Franz 19. Dave Hunt 20. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 21. Scott Irwin 22. Johnny Guarino 23. Mike McAleer 24. Bucky Kell 25. Rich Acolia 26. Tommy Farrell III 27. Willie Osmun DNS: Brad Freeman

DNQ: John Stangle, Robbie Nixon, Mike Hendershot

Heat 1: 1. John Cornell III 2. Clay Butler 3. Paul Kline 4. Danny Bouc 5. Joe Systo 6. J.T. Trstensky
Heat 2: 1. Will Dupree 2. Mike Butler 3. Alan Bleacher 4. Rocco Infante 5. Brian Roemer 6. Bob Lineman Jr.
Heat 3: 1. D.J. Ruppert 2. Mike Lyons 3. Kyle Borror 4. Rich Rutski 5. Mike Howardson 6. Joe Funk
Consi: 1. Ryan Beltz 2. Pat Wall 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Kevin Vaclavicek 5. Gene Stravinsky 6. Bill Liedtka

Feature (20 laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. Paul Kline 3. Brian Roemer 4. D.J. Ruppert 5. Mike Howardson 6. Pat Wall 7. Will Dupree 8. Rich Rutski 9. Clay Butler 10. Ryan Beltz 11. Danny Bouc 12. Joe Funk 13. Gene Stravinsky 14. Joe Systo 15. Bill Liedtka 16. Mike Lyons 17. Ryan Simmons 18. John Cornell III 19. Mike Butler 20. Bob Lineman Jr. 21. Kyle Borror 22. Kevin Vaclavicek 23. Alan Bleacher 24. J.T. Trstensky

DNQ: Justin Hoffman, Erik Renninger, Jeff Marcucci, John Scarpati Jr., Jason Kosch, Wayne Bechtel, Harris Kohen, John Marini Jr., Steve Davis

Heat 1: 1. Doug Debray 2. Tony Klimeczak 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Ken Snook 5. Billy Wroble 6. John Carpenter
Heat 2: 1. Tom Princiotta 2. Jason Saredy 3. Kevin Bifulco 4. Jarrod Burdge 5. Spider Ensinger Sr. 6. Jason Prater
Heat 3: 1. Vern McLaughlin 2. Dan Collamer 3. P.J. Oliver 4. Everett Taylor 5. Bill Connelly 6. Tom Wills
Consi: 1. Gary Klimeczak 2. Kim Cooke 3. Scott Dugan 4. Herb Stout 5. Mick Search 6. Woody Woodriff
Pts. Provisional: Dennis Seeley

Feature (20 laps): 1. Doug Debray 2. Dan Collamer 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Ken Snook 5. Gary Klimeczak 6. Jason Saredy 7. Jarrod Burdge 8. Kevin Bifulco 9. Kim Cooke 10. P.J. Oliver 11. Billy Wroble 12. Jason Prater 13. Scott Dugan 14. Woody Woodriff 15. Vern McLaughlin 16. Herb Stout 17. Tom Wills 18. Tony Klimeczak 19. Dennis Seeley 20. Tom Princiotta 21. John Carpenter 22. Brian Barker 23. Spider Ensinger Sr. 24. Bill Connelly 25. Everett Taylor

DNQ: Earl Willetts, Jesse McLaughlin, Ed Tinsman, Marty Derr, Jim Avery

Modifieds: 1. Sherry Drayton 2. Beth Hendershot
Sportsman: 1. Marie McVay 2. Rebecca Lamothe
Outlaw Stocks: 1. Laura Zachery 2. Marilyn Oliver