Wade Hendrickson Flies to Second Win at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (Sept. 3, 2011)
– Wade Hendrickson of Lawrenceville, NJ, known to his fans as “The Flying Farmer”, posted his second win of the season at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he won the 30 lap feature event on Back-To-School night sponsored by Buhler Auto Group. Hendrickson started 7th and wasted no time getting to the top spot by lap seven and cruising to the victory.

At the drop of the green heat winner Dave Hunt lead the first lap before giving way to second starter Rick Holsten. Holsten was strong in the early going as he showed the way till Hendrickson, who had been steadily advancing to the front, dove under him entering turn one for the lead on lap #7. Once in front Hendrickson quickly showed everyone that he was the man to beat on this night as he pulled away at will thru several early caution flags. The first of which on lap 7 was caused by a 4 car tangle in turn two involving Dominick Buffalino, Jimmy Horton, Jimmy Blewett and 13-time winner Billy Pauch; all of which restarted at the rear. At the halfway point Hendrickson found 11th starter Sam Martz right behind him for what became the final restart followed by John Miloszar, Holsten and 19th starting Rick Laubach. This did not phase Hendrickson who picked up where he left off and ran out to over a straightaway advantage over Martz. With only 8 laps remaining Pauch, who had restarted at the rear just 15 laps before, moved past Martz for second and tried to find Hendrickson. However this night belonged to Wade as he easily drove to his first ever 30 lap victory at New Egypt Speedway (his first win was a 20 lapper). Pauch settled for a hard earned second while Martz held off a persistent Laubach for the third position. Laubach and John McClelland rounded out the top five. Danny Bouc had a nice run finishing in sixth.

Bobby Drayton beat out David Van Horn for seventh. Drayton was piloting Van Horn’s back-up car due to a great act of Sportsmanship on Van Horn’s part. After a qualifying crash found Drayton looking for a ride, David Van Horn (who is fifth in points) gave his back up car to Drayton (who is fourth in points) to race for the rest of the night. Van Horn, Miloszar and Willie Osmun rounded out the top ten.

John Micek of Flemington, NJ posted his first feature victory of the season in the Crate-1 Sportsman 20 lapper. Micek grabbed the lead from young Jordan Cox on lap five and then held off a late race challenge from defending champion and current point leader Jim Housworth to post the popular win. Housworth settled for a strong second after starting 18th followed  by Cox, Kyle Borror and Steve Ramsey.

In the twin Fastrak Late Model 12-lap features, PJ Oliver of Cream Ridge, NJ and Rob Ormsbee of Wall, NJ split the two features for the third straight time. Ormsbee took top honors in the first one beating Tony Giglio and Skip Syester for his 11th victory this year. Oliver then won the nightcap holding off Ormsbee and Syester for his third win of the season.

This Monday evening, Sept. 5, it will be the second annual John Romano Memorial Sportsman championship event presented by Spike-N-Go. The 84-lap affair will pay a cool $4,000 to the winner and also have lap money paid for every lap of the feature event. Many invaders are expected to challenge defending race winner Rocco Infante for the top prize. The Sportsman will also compete in the fan favorite match races paying $500 to the winner. The TSRS 305 Sprint Cars will complete the two-division card highlighted by their 25-lap $1,000 to win feature event. First race will get underway at 5pm, with gates opening at 2pm.

Next Saturday Sept. 10th it will be Tribute to First Responders/911 Night at New Egypt Speedway presented by Mr. Bob Drayton Inc. All Fire, EMS or Police personnel with ID will be receive FREE general admission.  The Powder Puff races rained out last week by Hurricane Irene will also be on the schedule. Modifieds will headline the show joined by the Sportsman and the Outlaw Stocks. Racing gets underway at 6pm, with gates opening at 4pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Heat 1: 1. David Van Horn 2. Dave Hunt 3. Rich Acolia 4. Willie Osmun 5. Billy Pauch Jr. 6. Tad Cox
Heat 2: 1. Jimmy Blewett 2. Wade Hendrickson 3. Billy Pauch 4. Rick Holsten 5. Sam Martz 6. John Miloszar Jr.
Heat 3: 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Gary Butler 3. Danny Bouc 4. Jimmy Horton 5. John McClelland 6. Mike Franz
Consi: 1. Mike Iles 2. Rick Laubach 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Mike Hendershot 5. Mike McAleer 6. Stan Frankenfield 7. Steve Haggan 8. Bobby Drayton 9. John Salvatore

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Wade Hendrickson 2. Billy Pauch 3.Sam Martz 4. Rick Laubach 5. John McClelland 6. Danny Bouc 7. Bobby Drayton 8. David Van Horn 9. John Miloszar Jr. 10. Willie Osmun 11. Tim Tanner Jr. 12. Jimmy Horton 13. Gary Butler 14. Tad Cox 15. Rick Holsten 16. Dominick Buffalino 17. Jimmy Blewett 18. Stan Frankenfield 19. Dave Hunt 20. Steve Haggan 21. Mike McAleer 22. Mike Iles 23. Mike Hendershot 24. Billy Pauch Jr. 25. Rich Acolia

DNQ: Rich Kuiken Jr., John Dixon, Ron John Koczon

Heat 1: 1. Dan Mazy 2. Jordan Cox 3. Jim Housworth 4. Harry Marlin 5. Rich Steele 6. Mike Mongiello
Heat 2: 1. Steve Hicks 2. Jarrett Rozycki 3. John Micek 4. Kyle Borror 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Bob Rambone
Heat 3: 1. Steve Ramsey 2. John Aumick 3. Scott Hyland 4. Ron Barnstead 5. Jon Haegele 6. Jeremy Martino

Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Micek 2. Jim Housworth 3. Jordan Cox 4. Kyle Borror 5. Steve Ramsey 6. John Aumick 7. Steve Hicks 8. Bryan Kuhl 9. Jeremy Martino 10. Harry Marlin 11. Scott Hyland 12. Ron Barnstead 13. Mike Everrett 14. Joe Dill 15. Chuck Stoyer 16. Bob Rambone 17. Dan Mazy 18. Rich Steele 19. Jarrett Rozycki 20. Mike Mongiello 21. Dan Stout 22. Glen Knell 23. Jon Haegele 24. Jordan Henn

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Tony Gigilo 3. Skip Syster 4. P.J. Oliver 5. DJ Marci 6. Alessa Young
Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. P.J. Oliver 2. Rob Ormsbee 3. Skip Syster 4. Tony Gigilo 5. DJ Marci 6. Alessa Young