Horton Ends Drought on Steamy Night at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (July 23, 2011)
– Jimmy Horton of Neshanic, NJ captured his first feature in 14 months at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he won the 30 lap Legends Night Modified event sponsored by The GiveBack Foundation. Horton passed race long leader Tim Tanner Jr. with just 2 laps remaining to post his 18th career victory at NES.

Tim Tanner Jr. was very fast right from the start as he shot by pole sitter Rick Holsten on lap #2 to grab the lead and then walked away from the field. Meanwhile, 7th starter Horton was hot on his heels as he grabbed second just 2 laps later and set his sights on Tanner. Tanner had checked out though and had a sizeable lead until he hit lapped traffic. With Horton closing in, the first yellow of the event appeared on lap 16 and closed up the field on his bumper. When the green flew, Tanner picked up where he had left off leading the way, however Horton was putting on the pressure which he increased each and every lap. With 8 laps to go he began pulling up alongside of Tanner in turn one and each passing lap saw him shave a little bit more off Tanner’s lead. Horton finally got the bite he had been searching for and drove into the lead on the backstretch with just two laps left and then raced to a popular victory. Tanner drove a great race but had to settle for second. Willie Osmun came on strong in the final 10 laps to race home third as he prepares to defend his Friends of Mike crown next week.  Tad Cox and Jimmy Blewett rounded out the top five.

Neal Williams invaded the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night and captured his first NES feature victory of his career in the Crate-1 Sportsman 20 lapper. Williams got by Rookie competitor Jordan Cox with less than five laps remaining to post the win. Dan Mazy crossed the line second while Cox drove to his best finish to date finishing third. Fourth was John Micek and Jarrett Rozycki completed the top five.

Mike Wharton and Rob Ormsbee split the Fastrak Late Model 12-lap features. Wharton took the first one in his first appearance at NES this season, chased by Rob Ormsbee and defending champ Darin Henderson. Ormsbee then took the nightcap over Wharton and Tony Giglio.

Next Saturday night, July 30, New Egypt Speedway presents Friends of Mike Night. Modifieds will headline the show with a 100 lap $15,000 to win event that also offers a guaranteed starting spot in this years Eastern States 200 at Orange County Fair Speedway. The event could pay $20,000 if the driver takes the Gambler’s challenge. Many top Modified drivers from around the northeast are expected to invade to try and take home the top notch payday, including Danny Johnson, Stewart Freisen, Duane Howard, and Jeff Strunk just to name a few. Sportsman and Outlaw Stocks will also compete for additional money and the Mods will also compete in the “Rogie Rumble” Match races. Gates open at 2:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Heat 1: 1. Rick Holsten 2. Mike McAleer 3. Sam Martz 4. Tad Cox 5. Billy Pauch 6. Danny Bouc
Heat 2: 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. Jimmy Horton 3. John Miloszar 4. Ron John Koczon 5. Jimmy Blewett 6. Gary Butler
Heat 3: 1. Richie Pratt Jr. 2. Willie Osmun 3. Rick Laubach 4. Bob Drayton 5. Tom Carberry 6. Wade Hendrickson

B Main: 1. David Van Horn 2. Mike Hendershot 3. Mike Iles 4. Dominick Buffalino 5. Robbie Nixon 6. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 7. John Salvatore Jr. 8. Brad Freeman
Pts. Provisional: Mike Franz

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Jimmy Horton 2. Tim Tanner 3. Willie Osmun 4. Tad Cox 5. Jimmy Blewett 6. Gary Butler 7. Billy Pauch 8. Wade Hendrickson 9. Rick Laubach 10. Sam Martz 11. Bob Drayton 12. Mike Iles 13. Ron John Kocxon 14. John Salvatore 15. Dominick Buffalino 16. Mike McAleer 17. Richie Pratt Jr. 18. Tom Carberry Sr. 19. Mike Hendershot 20. Danny Bouc 21. John Miloszar 22. Robbie Nixon 23. Stan Frankenfield 24. David Van Horn 25. Brad Freeman 26. Rick Holsten

DNQ: Dave Hunt, Doug Ostwald.

Heat 1: 1. Joe Dill 2. Jordan Cox 3. Dan Mazy 4. Kyle Borror 5. Jordan Henn 6. Jon Haegele
Heat 2: 1. Jarrett Rozycki 2. Jeremy Martino 3. Jim Housworth 4. Scott Cranstoun 5. Steve Hicks 6. Brett Ballard
Heat 3: 1.  Ron Barnstead 2. Glenn Knell 3. Neal Williams 4. John Micek 5. Harry Marlin 6. Mike Mongiello
B Main: 1.  Bryan Kuhl 2. Chuck Buchman 3. Dan Cogdill 4. Mike Everrett 5. Scott Hyland 6. Steve Ramsey
Pts. Prov.: John Aumick

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Neal Williams 2. Dan Mazy 3. Jordan Cox 4. John Micek 5. Jarrett Rozycki 6. Harry Marlin 7. Joe Dill 8. Kyle Borror 9. Jim Housworth 10. Jon Haegele 11. Glenn Knell 12. Jeremy Martino 13. Ron Barnstead 14. Steve Ramsey 15. Jordan Henn 16. Mike Everett 17. Mike Mongiello 18. Scott Hyland 19. Scott Cranstoun 20. Steve Hicks 21. John Aumick 22. Brett Ballard 23. Bryan Kuhl 24. Chuck Buchman   DNS: Dan Cogdill

DNQ: Doug Urbano

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Mike Wharton 2. Rob Ormsbee 3. Darin
Henderson 4. Tony Giglio 5. DJ Marci 6. Alessa Young 7. P.J. Oliver
Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Mike Wharton 3. Tony Giglio 4. Darin Henderson 5. DJ Marci 6. Alessa Young 7. P.J. Oliver