Pauch Honors Military with Flawless Performance at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (May 28, 2011)
– Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ won his third feature of the 2011 season at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap Modified feature event sponsored by Joy Auto Parts. Pauch chased leader Wade Hendrickson till just after halfway, then used a lap 17 restart to his advantage as he crossed under him in turn two to grab a lead that he would never relinquish. Once in front Pauch cruised to his 92nd career win by 8 car lengths.

“This is a tough place to win so every win feels special,” stated Pauch in victory lane, “It reminds me of Flemington in the mid-1980’s when there were 15-20 cars capable of winning every night. You really have to on top of your game.”

The 30-lap event got off to a rocky start as a first lap tangle in turn two saw team mates Jimmy Blewett and defending champ Rick Laubach tangled together with Tommy Carberry Jr. and Rich Kuiken Jr. in turn #2. Laubach was able to continue after two trips to the pits but was never a factor on this night. Once it finally got going Ron John Koczon grabbed the early lead and looked very impressive as he opened up a sizeable lead on the field. Hendrickson was up to second by lap 3 and was fast, but had nothing for Koczon in the early going. Pauch was up to third when the caution lights came on lap 9. The restart saw Hendrickson first, and then Pauch a lap later, get by Koczon for the top spots. Pauch couldn’t muster a serious challenge until a restart on lap 17 when Pauch caught the cushion in turn two and used it to drive off under Hendrickson coming off the corner. Over the final 10 laps Hendrickson kept pace but could not close the gap at all as Pauch raced across the line first. Hendrickson settled for second while Sam Martz drove a very nice race to come home third. Jimmy Horton made Martz work for the spot but fell short in the end finishing fourth. Rick Holsten posted one of his best finishes ever at NES rounding out the top five.

Marc Herman of Windsor, NJ took top honors in the 20 lap Sportsman main event. Herman bested young DJ Ruppert to post his third career win, his first in almost 3 years. Ruppert held on for second, while Clay Butler was very fast again late in the event and wound up third. Danny Bouc raced up to finish fourth while Tim Apgar completed the top five.

John Carpenter won the 20 lap Outlaw Stock feature for his second win of the year and his ninth career win. Dan Collamer finished second, followed by Jason Saredy, Gary Klimeczak and Marty Derr.

At intermission a military ceremony was held in front of the grandstands as Outlaw Stock regular Billy Wroble retired from the United States Air Force. Wroble stated that since he was stationed at McGuire AFB five years ago, everyone at the speedway has become like an extended family to him, and he wanted to share this with them.

Tomorrow, Sunday May 29th, Rich Tobias presents the first event of the Big Kahuna Series which will run one Sunday a month for the summer. The Tobias SpeedSTERS will be in action along with a Sportsman/Crate-1 combo event, the Vintage cars and a 100 lap Enduro.
Gates will open at 10am, with the first race at 12:00.

This Thursday evening, June 2, it is the Amsoil Wingless Sprints USAC National Tour making their only visit to NJ during their Eastern Storm. The USAC Sprints will compete in a 40-lap $6000 to win event. They will be joined by the Big-Block Modifieds racing in a 30-lap $3000 to win race. Gates open at 5pm, with racing getting underway at 7:30pm.

And finally, Next Saturday night, June 4th, New Egypt Speedway presents Scout Night sponsored by Downs Ford. All Scouts 17 yrs old and under in uniform will be admitted free. The racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Crate-1 Sportsman, FasTRAK Late Models, Tri-State Racesavers 305 Sprint Cars and Rookie Sportsman. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Heat 1: 1. Jimmy Blewett 2. Wade Hendrickson 3. Rick Holsten 4. Richie Pratt Jr. 5. Jimmy Horton 6. David Van Horn
Heat 2: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Mike Hendershot 3. Bob Drayton 4. Ron John Koczon 5. Mike Franz 6. Rich Kuiken Jr.
Heat 3: 1. Rick Laubach 2. Sam Martz 3. Wilie Osmun 4. Dave Hunt 5. Tad Cox 6. Mike Barone
Consi: 1. Mike Iles 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Tommy Carberry Jr. 4. Jim Robertson 5. Tim Tanner Jr. 6. John McClelland 7. Tom Carberry Sr. 8. John Stangle
Pts. Provisional: Matt Harrell
Fans Provisional: Mike McAleer

DNQ: Robbie Nixon, Stan Frankenfield Jr, Chris Grback, Johnny Guarino, Steve Haggan, Randy Laird, Rich Acolia, Chad Barney, Gary Butler, John Salvatore Jr., Frank Cozze Jr.

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Wade Hendrickson 3. Sam Martz 4. Jimmy Horton 5. Rick Holsten 6. Mike Iles 7. Bob Drayton 8. Ron John Koczon 9. Willie Osmun 10. Richie Pratt Jr. 11. Tad Cox 12. Dominick Buffalino 13. Dave Hunt 14. Mike McAleer 15. Rick Laubach 16. John McClelland 17. Matt Harrell 18. David Van Horn 19. Tim Tanner Jr. 20. Jim RObertson 21. Mike Hendershot 22. Tom Carberry Sr. 23. Mike Barone 24. John Stangle 25. Mike Franz 26. Jimmy Blewett 27. Rich Kuiken Jr. 28. Tom Carberry Jr.

Heat 1: 1. Mike Butler 2. Danny Bouc 3. Rocco Infante 4. Marc Herman 5. Ryan Beltz 6. Mike Lyons
Heat 2: 1. DJ Ruppert 2. Ebby Ridge 3. John Cornell III 4. Clay Butler 5. Mike Howardson 6. Kevin Vaclavicek
Heat 3: 1. Tim Apgar 2. Rich Rutski 3. Bob Lineman Jr. 4. Will Dupree 5. Kyle Borror 6. J.T. Trsensky
Consi: 1. Pat Wall 2. Erik Renniger 3. Chuck Buchman 4. Jason Kosch 5. Doug Urbano 6. Alan Bleacher
Pts. Prov.: Ryan Simmons

DNQ: Joe Funk, John Marini Jr., Walt Larson, Mark Bitner, Jimmy Watts, Bill Liedtka

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Marc Herman 2. DJ Ruppert 3. Clay Butler 4. Danny Bouc 5. Tim Apgar 6. Ebby Ridge 7. Mike Howardson 8. John Cornell III 9. Kevin Vaclavicek 10. Will Dupree 11. Pat Wall 12. Mike Lyons 13. Kyle Borror 14. Mike Butler 15. J.T. Trstensky 16. Ryan Beltz 17. Bob Lineman Jr. 18. Ryan Simmons 19. Doug Urbano 20. Rich Rutski 21. Jeremy Martino 22. Erik Renniger 23. Chuck Buchman 24. Jason Kosch 25. Rocco Infante 26. Alan Bleacher

Heat 1: 1. Dan Collamer 2. Kevin Bifulco 3. Billy Wroble 4. Jason Saredy 5. Everett Taylor 6. Marty Derr
Heat 2: 1. John Carpenter 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Gary Klimeczak 4. Tom Princiotta 5. Tom Wills 6. Dennis Seely Jr.

Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Carpenter 2. Dan Collamer 3. Jason Saredy 4. Gary Klimeczak 5. Marty Derr 6. Everett Taylor 7. Tony Klimeczak 8. Tom Princiotta 9. Bill Connolly 10. Tom Wills 11. Brian Barker 12. Dennis Seely Jr. 13. Billy Wroble 14. Ken Snook 15. P.J. Oliver 16. Brian Ludwig 17. Jim Avery 18. Ray Posick 19. Kevin Bifulco 20. Jarrod Burdge 21. Ed Tinsman 22. Jason Prater DNS: Doug Debray, Earl Willetts


Feature (8 laps): 1. Jeremy Martino 2. Jordan Cox 3. Mike Everett 4. John Desmelyk 5. Cole Hager 6. Lee Schaefer