Buffalino Beats Osmun in New Egypt Thriller

New Egypt, NJ (May 21, 2011)
– Dominick Buffalino of Morganville, NJ captured his first feature of the season and 6th of his career at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he won the 30 lap Modified event sponsored by T & M Associates. Buffalino, who took last week off to regroup after a wreck the week before, lost the lead at the white flag to Willie Osmun but stormed back by him in the final turn to take the popular victory by just .184 seconds.

“I got into Willie a little in that last turn, but not hard”, stated an exuberant Buffalino, “When I went into turn three I wanted to make sure I didn’t overdrive, and I actually under drove the car in causing it to push up the track in turn four. I am sure it was exciting for the fans, I was just going for the win.”

Modified rookie Dave Hunt jumped out to the early lead from his outside pole starting position and set the pace for the first 7 laps ahead of Mike McAleer and Stan Frankenfield. Hunt looked smooth as he lead while Buffalino came thru from 7th starting spot. McAleer grabbed the lead on the 8th circuit and Buffalino quickly followed him into and second and began challenging for the lead. Osmun meanwhile was wasting no time as he chased after Buffalino. McAleer lead three laps before Buffalino outdragged him down the backstretch on lap 11. Two laps later Osmun slipped by McAleer and the race was on. The race remained green thru lap 26 and Osmun was unable to close in at all on the speedy Buffalino. But with 4 to go, Johnny Guarino spun in turn four while battling with two-time defending champ Rick Laubach for fifth position resulting in Laubach being sent to the tail end of the field. The showdown was now set and when green replaced yellow Osmun went to work on leader Buffalino. As they raced to the white flag Osmun grabbed the lead, but not to be outdone Buffalino stormed back under him in turn three and four. The two traded a little paint as the exited turn four side by side and raced to the checkered. Buffalino won by less than 1 car length over the determined Osmun who settled for second. Tad Cox raced up front all night and got a very well deserved third place finish. Billy Pauch, who was 8th on that last restart, ended up fourth with a late race charge and Frank Cozze Jr. rounded out the top five.

Jon Haegele of Ivyland, PA captured his first feature victory of the season in the Crate-1 Sportsman 20 lapper. 2009 Champ Haegele took the lead from race-long leader Jarrett Rozycki with just 2 laps to go and then cruised to his 6th career win. Young gun Jordan Henn again was fast and claimed second spot in just his third start. Rozycki raced home third chased by Bryan Kuhl and Glenn Knell.

In the TriState RaceSaver 305 Sprint Series race, Bobby Devault won his first career win in the 20-lap event. The 20-lap event went non-stop in a time of just 5 min and 37 sec. Jeff Mueller closed the gap up on the leader in the final laps but still fell short. Dan Massey crossed the line third, Jimmy Carpenter was fourth and Phil Meisner Jr. finished 5th.

Steve Davis and Rob Ormsbee split the Fastrak Late Model 12-lap features. Davis took the first one Ormsbee and defending champ Darin Henderson. Ormsbee took the nightcap over Tony Giglio and Davis.

In the Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman series, John Desmelyk won his second straight 8 lap feature event, his third of the season. Desmelyk bested Jeremy Martino and two-time winner Jordan Cox to post the victory.

Next Saturday night, May 28, New Egypt Speedway presents Tribute to the military Night at NES. All veterans both Active and retired will be admitted free of charge with ID. Also, ALL fans in attendance will receive a coupon for a free Rita’s Ice courtesy of Rita’s Ice of Bordentown, NJ, located on Rt. 206. Modifieds will headline the show, which will also include Sportsman along with the Outlaw Stocks. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Heat 1: 1. Mike Franz 2. Mike Hendershot 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Tim Tanner Jr. 5. Richie Pratt Jr. 6. Mike McAleer
Heat 2: 1. Dave Hunt 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Sam Martz 4. Rick Laubach 5. Billy Pauch 6. John Salvatore Jr.
Heat 3: 1. Johnny Guarino 2. Willie Osmun 3. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 4. Wade Hendrickson 5. Tad Cox 6. Frank Cozze Jr.
Consi: 1. Bob Drayton 2. Tommy Carberry Jr. 3. Matt Harrell 4. Mike Barone 5. Mike Iles 6. David Van Horn 7. Ron John Koczon 8. Jimmy Blewett
Fans Provisionals: John Miloszar

DNQ: Ryan Forte, Rich Acolia, Robbie Nixon, Rich Kuiken Jr., Tommy Farrell III, Steve Haggan, Rick Holsten, Brian Truppi, Jim Robertson, Gary Butler, DJ Ruppert, John Stangle

FEATURE (30 Laps): 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Willie Osmun 3. Tad Cox 4. Billy Pauch 5. Frank Cozze Jr. 6. Richie Pratt Jr. 7. Mike McAleer 8. Dave Hunt 9. Mike Hendershot 10. Wade Hendrickson 11. Jimmy Horton 12. Tim Tanner Jr. 13. Bob Drayton 14. Jimmy Blewett 15. Rick Laubach 16. Mike Iles 17. Ron John Koczon 18. Johnny Guarino 19. Tommy Carberry Jr. 20. Sam Martz 21. Mike Franz 22. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 23. David Van Horn 24. John Salvatore Jr. 25. Matt Harrell 26. John Miloszar 27. Mike Barone

Heat 1: 1. Doug Urbano 2. Glenn Knell 3. John Aumick 4. Jordan Henn 5. John Micek 6. Lee Allen 7. Eric Engstrom 8. Harry Marlin
Heat 2: 1. Jon Haegele 2. Brian Papiez 3. Jarrett Rozycki 4. Rich Steele 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Pat Wall 7. Steve Hicks 8. Jim Housworth
Consi: 1. Dan Mazy 2. Joe Dill 3. Kyle Borror 4. Scott Cranstoun 5. Doug Debray 6. Scott Hyland 7. Darren Cox 8. Mike Everett
Points Provisional: Jeremy Martino

DNQ: Dan Stout, Ron Barnstead

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Jon Haegele 2. Jordan Henn 3. Jarrett Rozycki 4. Bryan Kuhl 5. Glenn Knell 6. John Aumick 7. Jim Housworth 8. Kyle Borror 9. Pat Wall 10. Brian Papiez 11. Eric Engstrom 12. John Micek 13. Doug Urbano 14. Jeremy Martino 15. Scott Cranston 16. Joe Dill 17. Rich Steele 18. Mike Everett 19. Jordan Cox 20. Lee Allen 21. Doug Debray 22. Steve Hicks 23. Scott Hyland 24. Dan Mazy 25. Harry Marlin

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Steve Davis 2. Rob Ormsbee 3. Darin Henderson 4. Tony Giglio 5. Skip Syster 6. Mick Search 7. Alessa Young 8. DJ Marci

Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Orsmbee 2. Tony Giglio 3. Steve Davis 4. Mick Search 5. Skip Syster 6. DJ Marci 7. Darin Henderson 8. Alessa Young

Heat 1: 1. Chris Allen Jr. 2. John Wyers 3. Dan Massey 4. Jimmy Carpenter 5. Jeff Schall 6. Jeff Geiges
Heat 2: 1. Chuck Palmucci 2. Bill Case Jr. 3. Bruce Kindberg 4. Phil Meisner Jr. 5. Mike Espositio 6. Sean Campbell
Heat 3: 1. Jeff Muller 2. Kyle Reinhardt 3. Bobby DeVault 4. Stephanie Stevens 5. Stephanie Palmucci 6. Bill Corsa

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Bobby DeVault 2. Jeff Mueller 3. Dan Massey 4. Jimmy Carpenter 5. Phil Meisner Jr. 6. Stephanie Stevens 7. Jeff Geiges 8. Chris Allen Jr. 9. Chuck Palmucci 10. Bruce Kindberg 11. Kyle Reinhardt 12. Mike Esposito 13. Bill Case Jr. 14. Stephanie Palmai 15. Johnny Wyers 16. Gabe Fox 17. Jeff Schall 18. Sean Campbell 19. Bill Corsa 20. Ian Borden 21. Pat Uselis 22. John Leombruno

Feature (8 Laps): 1. John Desmelyk 2. Jeremy Martino 3. Jordan Cox 4. Cole Hager 5. Mike Everett DNS: Lee Schaffer