Pauch Shows Watt Around New Egypt For Tri Track Series Win

New Egypt, NJ (August 31, 2010)After two races he would rather forget with a disqualification and a last place finish, Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ showed everyone how it’s done Tuesday night to win the Summer Sizzler 40 Tri Track Series event at New Egypt Speedway. Pauch grabbed the lead from Bridgeport invader and pole sitter Ryan Watt on lap 14 while both were navigating lapped traffic and never looked back on his way to victory.

“I have to thank my crew,” said Pauch from Victory Lane. “They give me a great car every week. We had our struggles on Saturday night, but we worked hard to get here tonight. Fred and Bill and Wayne and his crew give us a great place to race every week. We come here to put on a show. Last year’s points battle with Rick didn’t go our way so hopefully this win tonight means that things are going to our way this year.”

Watt drew the pole, with Pauch starting second, and immediately took the lead at the drop of the green flag after Pauch looked to get loose coming off of turn two. On lap three Steve Haggan and Jim Robertson tussled going into turn two but both were able to keep their cars going in the right direction. Watt continued to lead Pauch until lap eight when Watt began to hit lapped traffic. Meanwhile, Tri Track Series point leader Rick Laubach had moved quickly up to the fifth position and was looking to challenge the fourth place car of Dominick Buffalino. On lap 14 Watt was dealing with the lapped traffic when Pauch saw an opportunity to capitalize and took the lead going into turn two. Watt tried to crossover on the exit of the turn but couldn’t overtake Pauch. A caution on lap 20 for the blown tire from Jimmy Horton’s car brought the field back to Pauch’s back bumper. However, on the single file restart Pauch again pulled away from Watt. The last 20 laps of the race seemed to be a battle for the third position between Tim Tanner, Buffalino, Laubach, and Frank Cozze. The four battled hard for the position in the closing laps until the lapped car of John Keller pushed up the track off of turn four coming to take the white flag causing Buffalino to hit the wall, lose a tire, and spin backwards passed the starters stand. Fireworks ensued as a visibly angry Buffalino exited his car looking for Keller. Buffalino calmed down and left the track gearing the drivers up for a green, white, checkered finish. With one final restart Pauch again pulled away from Watt and the rest of the field to claim his fifth victory of the season. Rounding out the top-10 was Watt, Tanner, Cozze, Laubach, Richie Pratt Jr., David VanHorn, Johnny Guarino, Gary Butler, and Sam Martz.

Steve Buckwalter of Royersford, PA dominated the only appearance by the ARDC Midgets at New Egypt to end up in Victory Lane. After starting 12th on the night Buckwalter quickly made his way to the front where we stayed for the rest of the event. Buckwalter was able to defend his ARDC feature win from last season holding off second place finisher Drew Heistand. Bruce Buckwalter Jr. finished in third while Ryan Smith and Alex Bright rounded out the top five.

This Saturday night the Big Block Modified will be in action along with the Crate-1 Sportsman racing in the Nick Roslin Memorial race, and the Fastrak Late Models on Back to School Night sponsored by Calabreeze Pools. The first 250 school aged children to enter the Speedway will receive a Back to School Pack full of useful school supplies courtesy of the track. Adults are $20; senior and military $18; children 12-15 $10; and children 11 and under are free. Pit gates open at 3 p.m. and the front gates open at 4 p.m. Practice will be at 5:15 p.m. with the first heat starting at 6 p.m.

On Monday, September 6, the John Romano Sportsman Memorial race will be held. Sportsman drivers from all over the east coast will be competing against New Egypt regulars for the big $5,000 prize. The TSRS 305 Sprints will also be on the track competing for the $1,000 top prize. Gates will be opening at 2 p.m. on Monday. Adults are $20; senior and military are $18; children 12-15 are $10; children 11 and under are free; and the pits will be a standard $35 with no license required. For more information on Back to School Night or the John Romano Memorial Sportsman race visit
www.newegyptspeedway.net or call the Speedway office at (609) 758-1900.


Heat 1: 1. Richie Pratt Jr. 2. Ryan Watt 3. Dominick Buffalino 4. Billy Pauch 5. Wade Hendrickson 6. Frank Cozze 7. Bob Drayton 8. Tim Tanner Jr.
Heat 2: 1. Jimmy Horton 2. Ryan Godown 3. Rick Laubach 4. Sam Martz 5. Brian Truppi 6. David Van Horn 7. John McClelland 8. Gary Butler

"Summer Sizzler" Feature (40 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Ryan Watt 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Frank Cozze 5. Rick LAubach 6. Richie Pratt Jr. 7. David Van Horn 8. Johnny Guarino 9. Gary Butler 10. Sam Martz 11. John McClelland 12. Dominick Buffalino 13. Mike Handershot 14. Brad Freeman 15. Steve Haggan 16. John Keller 17. Jim Robertson 18. Bob Drayton 19. Brian Truppi 20. Jimmy Horton 21. Wade Hendrickson 22. Ron John Koczon DNS: Ryan Godown, Willie Osmun, Keith Hoffman.

Heat 1: 1. Nick Wean 2. Ryan Smith 3. Drew Heistand 4. Dusty Heistand 5. Eric Heydenreich 6. Brett Arndt
Heat 2: 1. Bruce Buckwalter Jr. 2. Alex Bright 3. Trevor Kobylarz 4.Frank Polimeda 5. Dave Shirk 6. Steve Drevicki
Heat 3: 1. Steve Buckwalter 2. Donnie Trent 3. Billy Pauch Jr. 4. Tim Buckwalter 5. PJ Gargiulo 6. Chris Zrinski

Feature (25 Laps): 1. Steve Buckwalter 2. Drew Heistand 3. Bruce Buckwalter Jr. 4. Ryan Smith 5. Alex Bright 6. Trevor Kobylarz 7. Eric Heydenreich 8. Billy Pauch Jr. 9. Dusty Heistand 10. PJ Gariulo 11. Brett Arndt 12. Steve Drevicki 13. Tracy Readinger 14. Steve Lenig 15. Chris Zrinski 16. Lou Cicconi 17. Frank Polimeda 18. Nick Wean 19. Donnie Hoffman 20. Carey Becker 21. Tim Buckwalter 22. Donnie Trent 23. Ryan Watt 24. Dave Shirk