Laubach Plays the Grinch; Steals Christmas from Pauch at NES

New Egypt, NJ (July 17, 2010) Rick Laubach of Hellertown, PA did his best imitation of the Grinch as he passed Billy Pauch with less than two laps remaining to steal his fourth win of the season in the 30-lap Modified feature on Christmas in July night, sponsored by Advantage Financial Mortgage Bankers. Laubach started in 18th position and charged thru the field, passing leader Pauch in turn three on lap 29 and then holding off the 4 time champ to get his ninth career victory.

"I think I learned that from Pauch," announced Laubach in victory lane, "He has done that to me several times in the past, so it feels nice to return the favor. Great races like this are why fans come out, and we gave them their moneys worth tonight!"

Sean Merkel wasted no time grabbing control at the start of the 30 lap event taking full advantage of his pole starting position. Merkel set the pace early as John Stangle and Brad Freeman gave chase. Pauch, who has uncharacteristically struggled the last three weeks, was on the move from his rare ninth starting spot as he raced into second position by lap 11. Pauch was reeling in Merkel when the yellow was displayed two laps past halfway finding Laubach now running in the top five after starting 18th. On the ensuing restart Merkel was able to hold off Pauch for a lap, but Pauch proved too strong as he took command on lap 19. Pauch seemed to be headed to another win when the yellow was displayed with four laps to go. The restart found Laubach needing only one lap to get by Merkel and take aim on Pauch. Laubach quickly ran down Pauch and after working hard to get by on the inside for almost 2 laps, He made the move work on the backstretch of lap 29 as he squeezed into the lead in turn three and never looked back. Pauch ran hard to the end but could not get back by as Laubach won by just a little less than a car length. Darren McCaughey ran an excellent race finishing third, while race long leader Merkel settled for fourth.  Keith Hoffman also raced up from deep in the pack to finish in the fifth spot.

Ebby Ridge of Upper Black Eddy, PA finally broke thru for his first ever feature win at New Egypt on Saturday night as he withstood a late race restart and a last turn challenge from Randy Yaple. Ridge lead the race wire to wire but held off all comers throughout the 20-lap event break into victory lane. Yaple crossed the line second only to be DQd during the post race inspection. Bob Lineman Jr. was credited with second, followed by defending champ Rocco Infante, Mike Lyons and Kyle Borror.

John Carpenter of Howell, NJ posted his third straight victory at New Egypt Speedway taking top honors again in the 20-lap Outlaw Stock nightcap. Carpenter dove under Brian Ludwig and PJ Oliver as they battled for the lead with just four laps remaining to post the win. Oliver drove home second, race-long leader Ludwig settled for third, while defending champ Shanon Mongeau and 2008 champ Rich Mongeau rounded out the top five.

Next Saturday night, July 24, New Egypt Speedway presents Legends Night sponsored by the GiveBack Foundation of central NJ. All fans attending are asked to bring one canned good to donate to the Foundation which does great work helping people in need with Life altering circumstances. Stock car Legends such as Stan Ploski, Billy Osmun, Ken Brenn Sr. & Jr., Fritz Epright, Johnny Leach, Bob Pickell, Newt Hartman, Fred Dmuchowski, & Daryl Carmen are just some of the names expected to be in attendance signing autographs and doing a meet and greet with the fans. Big-Block Modifieds, Crate-1 Sportsman, Fastrak Late Models & the Tobias SpeedSTRs will be on the card, along with the popular Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club & the newly formed Flemington Speedway Historical Society. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.

NES AGATE 07/17/10

Heat 1: 1. Billy Pauch 2. John Stangle 3. Sean Merkel 4. Rick Laubach 5. Tommy Carberry Jr. 6. Keith Hoffman
Heat 2: 1. Brad Freeman 2. Willie Osmun 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Darren McCaughey 5. David Van Horn 6. Dominick Buffalino
Heat 3: 1. Mike Barone 2. Mark Forte Jr. 3. Frank Cozze Jr. 4. Bob Drayton 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Tad Cox
Consi: 1. Frank Cozze 2. Brian Truppi 3. John McClelland 4. Mike Hendershot 5. Sam Martz 6. Ryan Forte
Provisionals: Ron John Koczon, Tom Carberry
Fans Provisional: John Salvatore Jr.
Pts. Provisional: Johnny Guarino

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Rick Laubach 2. Billy Pauch 3. Darren McCaughey 4. Sean Merkel 5. Keith Hoffman 6. Willie Osmun 7. Bob Drayton 8. Dominick Buffalino 9. Johnny Guarino 10. Jimmy Horton 11. John McClelland 12. Mike Barone 13. John Salvatore Jr. 14. David Van Horn 15. Mike Hendershot 16. Ryan Forte 17. Frank Cozze 18. Mark Forte Jr. 19. Frank Cozze Jr. 20. Tommy Carberry Jr. 21. John Stangle 22. Brad Freeman 23. Brian Truppi 24. Tad Cox 25. Tim Tanner Jr. 26. Sam Martz 27. Ron John Koczon
DNS: Tom Carberry

DNQ: Steve Haggan, Corey Anderson, Brian Crammer, John Miloszar Jr.,
Gary Butler

Heat 1: 1. Brian Roemer 2. John Cornell 3. Chad Barney 4. Mike Howardson 5. Randy Yaple 6. Ryan Simmons
Heat 2: 1. Marc Herman 2. Mike Lyons 3. Ebby Ridge 4. Ryan Beltz 5. Kyle Borror 6. Clay Butler
Heat 3: 1. George Quinlan 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Rocco Infante 4. Mike Butler 5. Will Dupree 6. Tim Apgar
Consi: 1. Dave Hunt 2. DJ Ruppert 3. Jimmy Blewett 4. Kevin Vaclavicek 5. Ryan Osborne 6. Joe Funk
Pts. Provisional: Gene Stravinsky

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Ebby Ridge 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Rocco Infante 4. Mike Lyons 5. Kyle Borror 6. Will Dupree 7. Chad Barney 8. Kevin Vaclavicek 9. George Quinlan 10. Mike Butler 11. Mike Howardson 12. Clay Butler 13. Marc Herman 14. Dave Hunt 15. Ryan Beltz 16. Eric Engstrom 17. Joe Funk 18. Ryan Simmons 19. DJ Ruppert 20. Jimmy Blewett 21. Ryan Osborne 22. Tim Apgar 23. Gene Stravinksy 24. John Cornell
DQ: Randy Yaple DNS: Brian Roemer

DNQ: Walt Larson, Danny Roslin, Everett Taylor, Robin McTighe, Alan Bleacher, Eric Renninger, Richie Cass Sr., Steve Ramsey, Mike Krachun, Bill Martino, Wayne Bechtel

Heat 1: 1. Billy Wroble 2. Dan Collamer 3. Brian Ludwig 4. P.J. Oliver 5. Jarred Burdge 6. Tom Princiotta
Heat 2: 1. Shanon Mongeau 2. Scott Dugan 3. Jason Saredy 4. Spider Ensinger Sr. 5. Darren Cox 6. Dennis Seely

Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Carpenter 2. PJ Oliver 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Shanon Mongeau 5. Rich Mongeau 6. Marty Derr 7. Scott Dugan 8. Dan Collamer 9. Spider Ensinger Sr. 10. Tom Princiotta 11. Dennis Seely 12. Darren Cox 13. Ray Posick 14. Tony Klimeczak 15. Jarrod Burdge 16. Gary Klimeczak 17. Billy Wroble 18. Jesse McLaughlin 19. Jason Saredy