Jimmy Horton Has Banner Night at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (May 22, 2010) – Jimmy Horton of Neshanic, NJ picked up his first victory of the season at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap Banner Night feature event sponsored by Roma Bank. Horton, who started 7th, grabbed the lead on lap 14 from David Van Horn and never looked back. The victory was the 17th at New Egypt for Horton.

“We had to come up with a new gameplan,” stated Horton very matter of factly, “We have had a very slow start. I think we changed everything on the car but the number.”

David Van Horn grabbed the lead at the start of the event driving Brian Truppi’s #02 and controlled the early part of the event chased by Ron John Koczon, Frank Cozze Jr. and Horton. Thru the first ten laps Van Horn pulled away at will, but then Horton began to track him
down and finally on lap 14 a turn 4 slider put him in the lead. Once in front, It was all Horton as he pulled away with ease leaving everyone else to battle for second. The final five laps saw Van Horn’s car start to go away as he began to fade, as a late race charge by Keith Hoffman put him second at the checkered. Billy Pauch, who looked like he would not crack the top five did was he does best, that is get the most he can get out of what he has and still make it work as he ended up third by pure determination. Bobby Drayton had a great run all night long and ended up fourth followed by Van Horn who hung on for a top five finish.

Jim Housworth won the Crate-1 Sportsman 20 lap feature, taking the lead with 3 laps to go, then surviving a late race restart holding off Bill Martino to capture the victory. Martino was second followed by John Micek, Dan Mazy and Kyle Borrer.

In the Tobias Speedsters, Richie Tobias won easily as he had everyone
covered on this night.  The race was shortened to 16 laps when Rain hit the speeday. Former NES hotshoe Mario Page did a great job finishing 2nd while 358-Modified standout Rick Schaffer drove home third. Tyler Potts and DJ Marci rounded out the top five.

The Fastrak Late Models saw Mick Search his first of the year by a slight margin. PJ Oliver finished second, followed by Steve Davis, Tony Giglio and Alessa Young.

The Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman entered week six tonight, and Jarret Rozycki won his second feature
of the year over Bill Lester and Dave Damiano.

Next Saturday night, May 29th, New Egypt Speedway will pay tribute to
the Military with the fan favorite Twin 20’s for the Big-Block Modifieds. Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks and Rookie Sportsman are all also in action. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.
1st Heat: 1. Tad Cox 2. Frank Cozze Jr. 3. Frank Cozze 4. Kenny Carberry 5. Keith Hoffman 6. Rick Laubach
2nd Heat: 1. David Van Horn 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Bob Drayton 4. Mike Hendershot 5. Tim Tanner Jr. 6. John McClelland
3rd Heat: 1. Ron John Koczon 2. Willie Osmun 3. Billy Pauch 4. Jim Robertson 5. Mark Forte Jr. 6. Johnny Guarino
Consi: 1. Sam Martz 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Tom Carberry 4. Tommy Carberry Jr. 5. Mike Barone 6. Corey Andersen
Promoter Provisional: Richie Tobias

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Jimmy Horton 2. Keith Hoffman 3. Billy Pauch 4.
Bob Drayton 5. David Van Horn 6. Ron John Koczon 7. Frank Cozze 8. Tim Tanner Jr. 9. Frank Cozze Jr. 10. Kenny Carberry 11. Rick Laubach 12. Willie Osmun 13. Mike Hendershot 14. Johnny Guarino 15. John Miloszar 16. Richie Tobias 17. Mike Barone 18. Tommy Carberry Jr. 19. Corey Andersen 20. Brad Freeman 21. John McClelland 22. Tom Carberry 23. Dominick Buffalino 24. Mark Forte Jr. 25. Sam Martz 26. Tad Cox 27. Jim Robertson

DNQ: Tommy Beamer, John Stangle, Ryan Forte, Mike McAleer, Gary
Butler, Darren McCaughey
1st Heat: 1. Bill Martino 2. Kyle Borror 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Harry Marlin 5. Jimmy Spellmon 6. Jon Haegele
2nd Heat: 1.Chris Allen Jr. 2. Jim Housworth 3. John Amuick 4. John Micek 5. Pat Hires 6. Bob Burgess III
3rd Heat: 1. Bobby Dmuchowski 2. Dan Mazy 3. Ron Barnstead 4. Lee Allen 5. Gabe Fox 6. Doug Debray
Consi: 1. Brandon Guyer 2. Brian Papiez 3. Tim Paul 4. Matt Vallincourt 5. Eric Renninger 6. Bob Rambone

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Jim Housworth 2. Bill Martino 3. John Micek 4. Dan Mazy 5. Kyle Borror 6. Bryan Kuhl 7. Gabe Fox 8. Bob Burgess III 9. Jimmy Spellmon 10. Jon Heagele 11. Pat Hires 12. John Amuick 13. Doug Debray 14. Brandon Guyer 15. Jarrett Rozycki 16. Lee Allen 17. Brian Papiez 18. Ron Barnstead 19. Bob Rambone 20. Eric Renninger 21. Tim Paul 22. Matt Vallincourt 23. Harry Marlin 24. Bob Dmuchoswki 25. Chris Allen Jr.

DNQ: Rich Steele, Bobby Scherff, Doug Urbano, Tom Raneri, Wayne Groover, Danny Destefano, Scott Hyland, Joe Dill, John Alimurat, Dave Damiano
Tobias Speedstrs RESULTS
1st Heat: 1. Doug Sherwood 2. Doug Rose 3. Tyler Potts 4. Rick Schaffer 5. DJ Marci Jr. 6. Ben Whitaker
2nd Heat: 1. Rich Tobias 2. Steve Hicks 3. Mario Page 4. Kyle Hieber 5. Gary Huber 6. Jeff Gallup

Feature (16/20 (RAIN) Laps): 1. Rich Tobias 2. Mario Page 3. Rick Schaffer 4. Tyler Potts 5. DJ Marci Jr. 6. Doug Sherwood 7. Gary Huber 8. Doug Rose 9. Jeff Gallup 10. Steve Hicks 11. Gary Hieber Jr. 12. Brittany Wixon 13. Ben Whitiker 14. Katie McCardle 15. Scott Monroe 16. Kyle Hieber 17. Doug Zrinski

Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. Mick Search 2. P.J. Oliver 3. Steve Davis 4. Tony Giglio 5. Alessa Young 6. Darrin Henderson
Feature (8 Laps): 1. Jarrett Rozycki 2. Bill Lester 3. Dave Damiano 4. Walt Larson 5. Joe Dill 6. Danny DeStefano 7. Aaron VanGorder