Allen, Williams, and Hires all Victorious at NES "Spring Smash"


New Egypt, NJ (May 2, 2010)Chris Allen of Old Bridge, NJ beat the heat and the entire field as he drove to his first career Crate-1 Sportsman win on Sunday afternoon. Maryland’s Mike Williams swept both 12-lap main events in the FASTRAK Late Model action while Mike Hires captured the 50-lap Enduro.

Chris Allen led the 26-car field down for Terry Branson’s green flag in the 20-lap main event. Allen grabbed the lead at that point while all sorts of paint swapping was going on behind him. Last week’s winner, Pat Hires made a daring three-wide move on lap 5 that propelled him into the sixth position. All eyes then turned to the leaders as Dan Mazy put heavy pressure on the leader Allen as the two raced side by side for several laps until the caution flew on lap 11.


Allen was able to withstand Mazy’s attempts at the lead and then had to fend off 2009 champion Jon Haegele as he was able to slip by Mazy. A few laps later the complexion of the race changed as Mazy’s car slowed while running third causing a chain reaction behind him. As cars tried to avoid the “X” car, space was limited as cars got into each other. Suffering the worst of the incident was first year driver Jim Housworth. Housworth flipped entering turn three and the red was displayed immediately. Everyone involved in the accident checked out okay.


From that point on, the action on the track seemed to settle down a bit as young Chris Allen checked out on the field to claim the popular victory. Haegele finished second while Bryan Kuhl came home in third. Rounding out the top 5 was Pat Hires and Brian Papiez.


Mike Williams was able to use his pole starting spot to his advantage as he claimed his first ever FASTRAK Late Model victory. Williams held off two-time winner Steve Davis for the win. In the second feature Williams was able to pass both Tony Giglio and Darrin Henderson for the clean sweep on the day.

Mike Hires of Pennsylvania captured the 50-lap Enduro over Shon Elk. Rick Latza, Mike Naftzinger and Mark Naftzinger completed the top 5 in the 21-car field.



1st Heat: 1. Chris Allen 2. Brian Papiez 3. Jim Housworth 4. Darrell Delnero 5. Jon Haegele 6. Ron Barnstead
2nd Heat: 1. Dan Mazy 2. Chuck Buchman 3. Kyle Borror 4. Pat Hires 5. Gabe Fox 6. Billy Martino
3rd Heat: 1. John Micek 2. Glenn Knell 3. Matt Vaillancourt 4. Lee Allen 5. Brandon Guyer 6. Harry Marlin
B-Main: 1. Jimmy Spellmon 2. Bryan Kuhl 3. Bobby Scherff 4. Doug Urbano 5. Bobby Dmuchowski 6. Bob Rambone 7. Rich Steele 8. Scott Hyland


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Chris Allen 2. Jon Haegele 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Pat Hires 5. Brian Papiez 6. Lee Allen 7. Kyle Borror 8. Gabe Fox 9. John Micek 10. Billy Martino 11. Doug Urbano 12. Matt Vallaincourt 13. Chuck Buchman 14. Bobby Scherff 15. Bob Rambone 16. Rich Steele 17. Jimmy Spellmond 18. Scott Hyland 19. Dan Mazy 20. Jimmy Housworth 21. Glenn Knell 22. Brandon Guyer 23. Ron Barnstead 24. Darrell Delnero 25. Harry Marlin 26. Bobby Dmuchowski



Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Mike Williams 2. Steve Davis 3. Darrin Henderson 4. Tony Giglio
Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Mike Williams 2. Darrin Henderson 3. Tony Giglio 4. Steve Davis
Enduro (50 Laps): 1. Mike Hires 2. Shon Elk 3. Rick Latza 4. Mike Naftzinger 5. Mark Naftzinger 6. Jim Watkins 7. Mike Dunn 8. Sam Detwiler 9. Brian Phillips 10. Katie Lyons