Laubach Beats Guarino in New Egypt Thriller
New Egypt, NJ (May 1, 2010)
– In what many believe was one of the best nights in recent memory at New Egypt Speedway, Rick Laubach of Hellertown, PA scored his second feature win of the young season in the 30-lap Modified feature on Saturday night, sponsored by Cradlerock Developers & Professional Water Services. Laubach used the ultra fast and smooth surface to grab the lead from race-long leader Johnny Guarino with just two laps remaining and then sped to the seventh victory of his career at NES. In fact, all three feature of the evening came down to the final lap!

"Johnny was tough tonight, but I think my experience is the only reason we won tonight," proclaimed Laubach in victory lane, "I know that when your trying to win your first the nerves start up late in the race, and now that I am a veteran I get up for these challenges. I feel bad for Johnny, but we are here to win and I give it my all every week. He will get one soon."


Laubach started the race in 13th spot while Guarino charged to the early lead from his front row start. Guarino looked impressive early, as he pulled away at will from Mike Barone and David Van Horn. Van Horn’s night was short lived as he broke on lap 11 as he was challenging for second. The restart found Laubach sitting on row 4 with Billy Pauch, and 2 laps later, Pauch broke in turn two setting off a chain reaction involving Ron John Koczon, Gary Butler and Jimmy Horton, with Koczon done for the evening.  Guarino continued to control the event by as much as half of a straightaway while Frank Cozze and Laubach moved into second and third. With 9 laps to go, Laubach took second spot from Cozze and began zeroing in on the leader.  Laubach chipped away at Gaurino’s lead each lap until he caught him with just 3 laps left. As the two-to-go sign was given, the cars were side by side at the start-finish line with each person in attendance having their own view of who was in the lead. Laubach then took the lead in turn one, only to see Guarino take it back on the backstretch as they hit lapped traffic.  At this moment the yellow lights came on for Frank Cozze Jr. who stopped against the homestretch fence. The official scoring reverting back to the completion of lap 28, Lauback was found to be the leader by just .005 of a second on the AMD transponders. Laubach held on over the final two laps to post his second win in three races while Guarino held off Cozze for his best finish ever at NES. Cozze cruised home third ahead of a fast Kenny Carberry and new-comer Mike Barone who also posted his best ever NES finish.

Rocco Infante of Robbinsville, NJ bounced back after a less than stellar performance in the season opener as he raced side by side with race-long leader Dave Hunt for the final 18 laps of the 20 lap Sportsman Feature event. Hunt and Infante raced side by side lap after lap without touching, till Infante finally grabbed the lead for good with just two laps remaining for the 17th win of his career. Hunt settled for second, followed by Randy Yaple third, Will Dupree fourth and Pat Wall in fifth.

Scott Dugan of Farmingdale, NJ posted his first ever win at New Egypt Speedway taking top honors in the 20-lap Outlaw Stock nightcap. He did this by holding off both PJ Oliver and Johnny Carpenter on either side of him over the final 3 laps. Oliver held on for second over Jason Saredy, Rich Mongeau and defending champ Shannon Mongeau.

In the third event of the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman series, Bill Lester became the 3rd winner in as many events for the Rookies followed by Walt Larson and Glen Knell.


Next Saturday night, May 8, New Egypt Speedway presents Mother’s Day night. Big-Block Modifieds, Crate1 Sportsman, Rookie Sportsman, 305 Sprint Cars & Fastrak Late Models will be on the card. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.




1st Heat: 1. Rick Laubach 2. John Guarino 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Gary Butler 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Frank Cozze
2nd Heat: 1. Mike Barone 2. David Van Horn 3. Kenny Carberry 4. Bob Drayton 5. Mark Forte Jr. 6. Mike Hendershot 
3rd Heat: 1. Frank Cozze Jr. 2. Billy Pauch 3. Keith Hoffman 4. Cory Anderson 5. Sam Martz 6. John Miloszar Jr.
B-Main: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Tad Cox 4. John McClelland 5. Brian Truppi 6. John Stangle

Provisionals: Jim Robertson, Darren McCaughey

Pts. Provisional: Mike McAleer

Fans Provisional:Tommy Carberry Jr


Feature (30 Laps): 1. Rick Laubach 2. John Guarino 3. Frank Cozze 4. Kenny Carberry 5. Mike Barone 6. Keith Hoffman 7. Bob Drayton 8. Dominick BUffalino 9. Sam Martz  10. Mike Hendershot 11. Jimmy Horton 12. Willie Osmun 13. JOhn McClelland 14. Tommy Carberry Jr. 15. Gary Butler 16. Cory Anderson 17. Ron John Koczon 18. Tad Cox 19. Brian Truppi 20. John Stangle 21. Frank Cozze Jr. 22. Mark Forte Jr. 23. Mike McAleer 24. Billy Pauch 25. John Miloszar 26. David Van Horn 27. Jim Robertson

DNS: Darren McCaughey


DNQ: Ryan Forte, Tommy Beamer, Dan Mazy, Tom Carberry, Timmy Tanner Jr, Brian Cranmer


Rookie Feature (8 laps): 1. Bill Lester 2. Walt Larson 3. Glen Knell 4. Dave Damiano 5. Jarrett Rozycki
1st Heat: 1. Mike Lyons 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Dave Hunt 4. Randy Yaple 5. Ryan Beltz 6. Ryan Simmons
2nd Heat: 1. Eddy Ridge 2. DJ Ruppert 3. Mike Butler 4. Brian Roemer 5. Marc Herman 6. Kyle Borror
3rd Heat: 1. Rocco Infante 2. J.T. Trsesnsky 3. Pat Wall 4. Will Dupree 5. Bill Liedtka 6. Mike Howardson 
B-Main: 1. Kevin Vaclavicek 2. George Quinlan 3. Clay Butler 4. Everett Taylor 5. Alan Bleacher 6. Gene Stravinsky


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. Dave Hunt 3. Randy Yaple 4. Will Dupree 5. Pat Wall 6. Bill Liedtka 7. Ryan Beltz 8. Mike Howardson 9. Clay Butler 10. Marc Herman 11. Kevin Vaclavicek 12. Brian Roemer 13. Alan Bleacher 14. J.T. Trsensky 15. Bill Lester 16. Ryan Simmons 17. Everett Taylor 18. Gene Stravinsky 19. George Quinlan 20. DJ Ruppert 21. Ebby Ridge 22. Mike Lyons 23. Mike Butler 24. Bob Lineman Jr. 25. Kyle Borror


DNQ: Chad Barney, Doug Stepanchuk, Joe Systo, Wayne Bechtel, Steve Ramsey, Lee Allen, Dave Damiano, Walt Larson, Jarrett Rozycki, Ryan Osborne, John Cornell, Robin McTighe, Glen Knell, Ryan Hoffman.
1st Heat: 1. P.J. Oliver 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Jesse McLaughlin 4. Scott Dugan 5. Darren Cox 6. Marty Derr 
2nd Heat: 1. Dan Collamer 2. John Carpenter 3. Jason Saredy 4. Gary Klimeczak 5. Doug Debray 6. Brian Ludwig


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Scott Dugan 2. P.J. Oliver 3. Jason Saredy 4. Rich Mongeau 5. Shannon Mongeau 6. Jesse McLaughin 7. Dan Collamer 8. Marty Derr 9. Doug Debray 10. Spider Ensinger Sr. 11. John Carpenter 12. Billy Wroble 13. Gary Klimeczak 14. Brian Ludwig 15. Darren Cox

DNS: Kevin Bifulco, Herb Stout