Pauch Pitches a Gem on New Egypt Little League Night
New Egypt, NJ (April 24, 2010)
– Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ was at the top of his game at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap feature event on Little League Night, sponsored by Infante Sod Farm. Pauch improved on his last start by one position as he charged from his 8th starting spot to the lead in just 11 laps and went on to post his 82nd career victory.

Gary Butler paced the field for the first eleven laps as Pauch and a fast Jimmy Horton raced up thru the field to challenge. What appeared to be shaping up to be a pretty good battle ended quickly as Butler pulled up lame off turn two with a flat right rear bringing out the races first caution flag. Pauch powered away on the restart after inheriting the lead, while 2-time Sportsman champ Willie Osmun battled with Horton for second. Osmun seemed to get faster as the race progressed, as he finally disposed of Horton and went after the leader around halfway. Osmun would stay close on two consecutive restarts but was unable to stay with him on the long runs, and eventually just settled for second….with his best ever Modified finish. Horton was a solid third while Keith Hoffman nipped Bob Drayton on the last lap to grab fourth, relegating Drayton to fifth.

Pat Hires of Levittown, PA won the first Crate-1 Sportsman feature of the year, the fourth of his career at NES.  Hires passed defending champion Jon Haegele on lap 12 and pulled away over the final 8 laps for the win. Haegele crossed the line second, followed by John Micek, Bryan Kuhl and Jim Housworth.

In the first ever TriState RaceSaver 305 Sprint Series event Chuck Palmucci of Bordentown, NJ took advantage of a restart with just one lap to go and entered the history books as the groups first ever feature winner. John Wyers used a 3 wide pass to grab the lead on the opening lap and looked unbeatable as he led by as much as a full straightaway at times. When the yellow flag was unfurled with one lap remaining, no one thought Palmucci could muster enough to complete the pass, however he surprised everyone as he rocketed around the outside of Wyers in turn two and never looked back. Wyers settled for second, followed Mark Bitner, Tim Damiani and Jeff Geigis.

The Fastrak Late Models also made their first appearance at NES, and Steve Davis made it a successful one for him, as he swept both 12 lap features run for this division. Darin Henderson of Baltimore, MD finished second in both of them after leading in the first half. Tony Giglio finished third in the first one, while Mike Williams grabbed third in the nightcap.

The Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman series continued this week, with Dave Damiano winning the 8 lap feature event. Last week’s winner Jarrett Rozycki was second and Bill Lester was third.


Next Saturday night, May 1st, New Egypt Speedway presents Cub Scout Night, as all scouts in uniform will be admitted free. The racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks and Rookie Sportsman. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.




1st Heat: 1. John Miloszar 2. Ron John Koczon 3. Billy Pauch 4. Mike Hendershot 5. Dominick Buffalino 6. Rick Laubach
2nd Heat: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Bob Drayton 4. Mike McAleer 5. Mark Forte Jr. 6. Brian Truppi
3rd Heat: 1. Gary Butler 2. Keith Hoffman 3. Frank Cozze 4. Tad Cox 5. Kenny Carberry 6. John Stangle 
B-Main: 1. John McClelland 2. Sam Martz 3. Tommy Carberry Jr. 4. Tom Carberry 5. Jim Robertson 6. Tommy Beamer 7. Ryan Forte 8. Kevin Nagy
Points Provisional: Frank Cozze Jr.
Fans Provisional: David Van Horn


Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Willie Osmun 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Keith Hoffman 5. Bob Drayton 6. Ron John Koczon 7. John McClelland 8. David Van Horn 9. Mike McAleer 10. Rick Laubach 11. Brian Truppi 12. Kenny Carberry 13. Tommy Carberry Jr. 14. Sam Martz 15. Mike Hendershot 16. Kevin Nagy 17. Tad Cox 18. Tom Carberry 19. Frank Cozze 20. Mark Forte Jr. 21. Frank Cozze Jr. 22. Ryan Forte 23. Tommy Beamer 24. Gary Butler 25. John Stangle 26. Jim Robertson 27. Dominick Buffalino 28. John Miloszar


DNQ: Corey Anderson, Darren McCaughey, Vern McLaughlin, Johnny Guarino, Chris Grbac, Brian Cranmer, Michael Barone, George Quinlan, Kevin Nagy, Ryan Forte, Rob Ormsbee, Rocco Infante, Tim Tanner Jr.
1st Heat: 1. John Micek 2. Jon Haegele 3. Bobby Dmuchowski 4. Kyle Borror 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Harry Marlin 7. Pat Hires 8. Darrell Delnero
2nd Heat: 1. Gabe Fox 2. Dan Mazy 3. Chuck Buchman 4. Jim Housworth 5. Lee Allen 6. Bobby Scherff 7. Rich Steele 8. Ron Barnstead
B-Main: 1. Bill Martino 2. Bryan Papiez 3. Tom Raneri 4. Wayne Groover 5. Bob Rambone 6. Jarrett Rozycki 7. Brandon Guyer 8. Matt Vaillancourt


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Pat Hires 2. Jon Haegele 3. John Micek 4. Bryan Kuhl 5. Jim Housworth 6. Bobby Dmuchowski 7. Gabe Fox 8. Bryan Papiez 9. Harry Marlin 10. Dan Mazy 11. Ron Barnsteak 12. Bill Martino 13. Darrel Delnero 14. Wayne Groover 15. Eric Renninger 16. Dave Damiano 17. Rich Steele 18. Chuck Buchman 19. Tom Ranieri 20. Brandon Guyer 21. Bob Rambone 22. Lee Allen 23. Jarrett Rozycki 24. Kyle Borror 25. Bobby Scherff


DNQ: Matt Vaillancourt, Chris Allen Jr., Scott Hyland


1st Heat: 1. Jeff Geiges 2. Mark Bitner 3. Steve Wilson 4. Tim Damiani 5. Dan Biggs 6. Jeff Davis
2nd Heat: 1. Chuck Palmucci 2. John Wyers 3. Doug Smith 4. Jeff Sell 5. Jim Campbell 6. Stefanie Palmai


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Chuck Palmucci 2. John Wyers 3. Mark Bitner 4. Tim Damiani 5. Jeff Geiges 6. Jeff Sell 7. Steve Wilson 8. Doug Smith 9. Stefani Palmai 10. Bobby Sandt Jr. 11. Dan Biggs 12. Jim Campbell 13. John Sanders 14. Mike McManus 15. Donny Andrews 16. Jeff Davis 17. David Swanson DNS: Bill Case Jr., Jeff Mueller
Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Steve Davis 2. Darrin Henderson 3. Tony Giglio 4. Mike Williams 5. PJ Oliver 6. Mick Search
Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Steve Davis 2. Darrin Henderson 3. Mike Williams 4. Mick Search 5. PJ Oliver 6. Tony Giglio
Feature (8 Laps): 1. Dave Damiano 2. Jarret Rozycki 3. Bill Lester 4. Walt Larsen DNS: Lisa Schaefer