Pauch Experience’s a “Holiday Miracle” at New Egypt


New Egypt, NJ (July 18, 2009) – Many people say that the Holiday season is full of little miracles. Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ experienced this first hand at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he watched his broken motor roar back to life and carry him to victory lane in the 30 lap Advantage Financial Mortgage Banker sponsored Christmas in July event. Pauch took the lead just before the halfway point from Ken Carberry and survived the motor scare on the final turn to post his 76th career Modified triumph, his fifth of 2009.

“I felt the motor break in turn 3 & 4 on the final lap,” Pauch said in disbelief, “When I came off of (turn) four I stepped back on the gas and it sputtered, grabbed the track and we made it to the line; We were very fortunate tonight. I would be surprised if we really had a motor failure, these Morrison Motors have been outstanding all year and have been a big reason for our success!”   
The early part of the event saw several cars battling for and sharing the lead thru several caution periods including John Miloszar, Mark Forte Sr., & Brad Freeman. By the 5th lap, the two fastest movers were Kenny Carberry and heat winner Tim Tanner Jr., as they raced into first and second respectively. Meanwhile, 17th starting Pauch was putting on a passing clinic for the large crowd in attendance as he passed Tanner for second on lap 7. The fans now sat on the edge of there seats as everyone awaited the pass for the lead, however Carberry had different ideas as he not only continued to lead, but began to pull back away from Pauch. On lap 12 Pauch began reeling in a slowing Carberry and made what would be the winning pass on lap 14. Two laps later, Carberry exited the race as his car finally gave out. Rick Laubach, who started 16th, was also a busy man as he raced into second one lap later only to find that Pauch was lapping cars a straightaway ahead.  A lap 21 yellow closed the gap and got everyone excited in anticipation of the restart, but it was anti-climatic as Pauch drove away easily. On the final two turns, Pauch saw Santa grant him his Christmas wish early as “Billy the Kid” got one last gasp from his motor, enough to carry him to victory lane, where his motor then deposited every fluid it had been carrying to the win. Laubach settled for a hard earned second, and by virtue of this finish it left Pauch and Laubach in a dead heat for the point lead going into next week’s events.  Tanner was stout all night long with a new small block motor under the hood as he came home a convincing third. Rich Rutski who was back for only the second time after taking 6 weeks off, charged from his 18th starting spot to cross the line fourth and June 27th winner Bobby Drayton rebounded back from an early race tangle and pit stop to finish fifth.

Rocco Infante of Robbinsville, NJ again showed he is the man to beat, as he raced from 24th starting spot to pass leader Lou Farina III at the white flag and take his fourth victory of the season in the 20 lap Sportsman feature. Farina, who won his heat and led most of the event, was denied his first win but came up with season best runner-up finish. Former Super Stock champ George Quinlan continues to get stronger with each event as he crossed the line third, followed by a career best fourth place by JT Trstensky. Tim Apgar drove the Baumann Racing #64 home fifth.

Shanon Mongeau finally won his first ever feature at NES in the 20 lap Outlaw Stock feature event. Mongeau had finished second in the last two events, however he finally put it all together as he out-dueled PJ Oliver to the popular win. Oliver came home a strong second chased by defending champ Rich Mongeau. Point leader Vern McLaughlin was fourth followed by Johnny Carpenter.

In the SS Sprint division, John Wyers was invited by the SS Sprint teams to compete against them with his Limited Sprint Car, and Wyers went from last starting spot to beat the 10 car field in exciting fashion for the fans.  Modified driver John McClelland took honors of the first SS Sprint across the line, posting his second straight win in as many attempts. Ian Borden finished second followed by Frank Cozze Jr.

Next Saturday night, July 25, New Egypt Speedway presents Legends Night sponsored by Perone’s Auto Salvage. The Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club will be on hand with vintage racers on display and on the track as well.  The racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Super Stocks, Crate1 Sportsman & SS Sprints. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


Agate 7/18/09
Heat 1: 1. Mike Hendershot 2. John Salvatore Jr. 3. Brad Freeman 4. Willie Osmun 5. Mike McAleer 6. Dominick Buffalino
Heat 2: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Kenny Carberry 3. Johnny Guarino 4. Mark Forte Jr. 5. John McClelland  6. Mark Forte Sr. 
Heat 3: 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. John Miloszar 3. Tommy Beamer 4. Ron John Koczon 5. Rick Laubach 6. Rich Rutski 
B-Main: 1. Bob Drayton 2. Sam Martz 3. Jim Robertson 4. Mike Krachun 5. Rick Holsten 6. Tom Carberry (Prov: Steve Haggan, Bruce Gsell)
(Pts. Prov: Tad Cox) (Fans Prov: Frank Cozze Jr.)


Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Rick Laubach 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Rich Rutski 5. Bob Drayton 6. Mike McAleer 7. John Miloszar 8. Willie Osmun 9. John McClelland 10. Jim Robertson 11. Steve Haggan 12. Ron John Koczon 13. Sam Martz 14. Brad Freeman 15. Johnny Guarino 16. Mike Hendershot 17. Mark Forte Jr. 18. Bruce Gsell 19. Frank Cozze Jr. 20. Mike Krachun 21. Tommy Beamer 22. Mark Forte Sr. 23. Kenny Carberry 24. John Salvatore Jr. 25. Rick Holsten 26. Dominick Buffalino 27. Marc Herman 28. Tom Carberry 29. Tad Cox


DNQ: Chris Grbac, Chris Allen Jr., Kevin Nagy, Tommy Carberry Jr., John Stangle.
Heat 1: 1. Jeff Marcucci 2. Kevin Vaclavicek 3. Mike Lyons 4. Mike Howardson 5. Jeff Geiges 6. Will Dupree 
Heat 2: 1. Lou Farina III 2. JT Trstensky 3. Chad Barney 4. George Quinlan 5. Ryan Forte 6. DJ Ruppert 


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. Lou Farina III 3. George Quinlan 4. JT Trstensky 5. Tim Apgar 6. Mike Howardson 7. Bill Liedtka 8. DJ Ruppert 9. Jeff Marcucci 10. Will Dupree 11. Kevin Vaclavicek 12. Bobby Butler 13. Ryan Forte 14. Gene Stravinsky 15. Mike Lyons 16. Pat Wall 17. John Cornell 18. Alan Bleacher 19. Everitt Taylor 20. Ryan Simmons 21. John Marini Jr. 22. Robin McTighe 23. Dwight Laird 24. Jeff Geiges 25. Chad Barney DNS: Brian Roemer
Heat 1: 1. Johnny Carpenter 2. Joe Mongeau 3. Billy Wroble 4. Gary Klimeczak 5. Kevin Bifulco
Heat 2: 1. PJ Oliver 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Shanon Mongeau 4. Vern McLaughlin 5. Doug Debray


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Shanon Mongeau 2. PJ Oliver 3. Rich Mongeau 4. Vern McLaughlin 5. Johnny Carpenter 6. Gary Klimeczak 7. Scott Dugan 8. Kevin Bifulco 9. Billy Wroble 10. Ray Posick 11. Jason Saredy 12. J. Henry Doerr 13. Mike Butler 14. Spider Ensinger Sr. 15. Jay Bundy 16. Doug Debray 17. Brian Ludwig 18. Joe Mongeau 19. Doug Bates 20. Dean Wolford 21. Tom Princiotta 22. Jarrod Burdge 23. Scott Dunn 24. Joe Reid 25. Pat Priore Sr. DNS: Mike Butler
Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Wyers (Limited Sprint) 1. John McClelland (SS Sprint) 2. Ian Borden 3. Frank Cozze Jr. 4. Dan Biggs 5. Ryan Miscoski 6. Nick Bardsley Jr. 7. Dave Martin 8. Robert Liedl 9. Harris Kohen