Horton Hits Homerun in Yankee Classic at NES


New Egypt, NJ (July 4, 2009) –  Jimmy Horton invaded the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night and captured the Yankee Classic BPG/Hooters Tri-Track Series event, sponsored by RJS Heating and Air Conditioning & H&H Gas. Horton, a former 2 time Modified track champ at NES, passed race leader Rick Laubach with 12 laps remaining and went on to post his second Series victory. The win was Horton’s 16th of his career at New Egypt Speedway.

Horton fell back from his second row starting spot to 8th in the first few laps, but quickly righted the ship and began his march back to the front. With pole sitter Laubach in control early, defending champ Billy Pauch passed Tim Tanner for second and began to apply steady pressure to the leader. Meanwhile Horton had snuck back into the picture, and on a lap 9 restart he ducked under Pauch to take over second. With much of the field using the low groove on the slick racing surface, Horton went to the middle of the track and got his car to work with a combination of a great set-up and excellent throttle control. Lap after lap he gained a few more feet on Laubach, until he eventually just wore him down, taking command of the event in turn three as he went around Laubach.  Once in front he opened up about a five car length advantage, until the final lap, when in true NES fashion Laubach made a desperate but well-timed charge on the final turn, only to fall short by 1 car length. Laubach settled for second, while Pauch watched the battle from his front row seat in third.  Tom Carberry completed an impressive run coming home fourth while Willie Osmun completed the top five.

In the Rislone URC Sprint Series event, Trevor Lewis of Upper Black Eddy, PA won his first race at New Egypt since 2002, as he held off the challenges of both JJ Grasso and defending champion Curt Michael. Lewis, who started 11th,  took the lead from the top three race leaders in one lap just after halfway passing Micheal, Chris Coyle, and leader Michael Carber. JJ Grasso was about to challenge Lewis for the lead in lapped traffic when the yellow appeared with 8 laps remaining. However, Grasso used the remainder of the event to fight of Curt Michael for the runnerup honors. Coyle drove home 4th followed by Kyle Purks in fifth.

Vern McLaughlin took top honors in the Outlaw Stock event. McLaughlin had his hands full with young Shanon Mongeau but held on to record his second straight win.  Mongeau crossed the line in second followed by John Carpenter, Joe Mongeau and Kevin Bifulco. 
The popular Modified Match races saw Gary Butler win the first 6 in a row, pocketing $300, before falling to Sam Martz. Bobby Drayton took care of Martz in the very next race and then beat Rick Laubach, before inviting the lone driver left, Billy Pauch out for the final event. Pauch took the 1 lap match race and the final race purse of $550. 
Next Saturday night, July 11, New Egypt Speedway takes a week off from the regular card in order to bring you the Extreme Off-Road Series Tour for the second time this season. Then the following Tuesday, July 14th, New Egypt Speedway will present their big mid-week Sportsman 50 lapper, paying a cool $2500 to win.  Many top Sportsman drivers from the Northeast are expected to be on hand to compete for the big money. For more information about these events, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.



1st Heat: 1.Jimmy Horton 2. Mike Hendershot 3. Jimmy Chester 4. Tom Carberry 5. Bucky Kell 
2nd Heat: 1. Bob Drayton 2. Ryan Forte 3. Ryan Watt 4. Tad Cox 5. Mark Forte Jr. 
3rd Heat: 1. Ron John Koczon 2. Kenny Carberry 3. Richie Pratt Jr. 4.Tim Tanner Jr. 5. Mike Krachun
4th Heat: 1. Gary Butler 2. Rick Laubach 3. Billy Pauch 4. Willie Osmun 5. Frank Cozze Jr.


Match Race Winner: Billy Pauch


1st B Main: 1. Rich Rutski 2. Mike McAleer 3. John Miloszar

2nd B Main: 1. Chic Cossaboone 2. Sam Martz 3. Wade Hendrickson


Feature (40 laps):  1. Jimmy Horton 2. Rick Laubach 3. Billy Pauch 4. Tom Carberry 5. Willie Osmun 6. Bob Drayton 7. Richie Pratt Jr. 8. Mike Hendershot 9. Jimmy Chester 10. Sam Martz 11. Tim Tanner Jr. 12. Gary Butler 13. Ryan Watt 14. Tad Cox 15. Rich Rutski 16. Wade Hendrickson 17. John Miloszar  18. Johnny Guarino 19. Chic Cossaboone 20. Frank Cozze Jr. 21. Ryan Forte 22. Ron John Koczon 23. Mark Forte Jr. 24. Mike Krachun 25. Bucky Kell 26. Kenny Carberry 27. Mike McAleer


DNQ:  Rick Holsten, John Stangle, Steve Davis, Jimmy Horton IV, Marc Herman, Steve Haggan, John Salvatore Jr., Jim Robertson, Dan Waisempacher, Dominick Buffalino, Chris Grbac, Frank Cozze, Rick Wegner, Bruce Gsell, Chris Allen Jr.
1st Heat: 1. Michael Carber 2. Chris Coyle 3. Art Liedl 4. Danny Massey 5. Scott Pursell 6. Andy Best  
2nd Heat: 1. Trevor Lewis 2. Kyle Purks 3. Brett Schoenly 4. Robbie Stillwaggon 5. Kenny Meisner 6. Jimmy Reppert
3rd Heat: 1. Curt Michael 2. Dave Gable 3. JJ Grasso 4. Kramer Williamson 5. Davey Sammons 6. Joe Zuzcek 
B Main: 1. Randy West 2. Mark Bitner 3. Jonathan Baker 4. Eddie Wagner 5. Bryn Gohn 6. Nick Schlauch Jr.


Feature (25 laps): 1. Trevor Lewis 2. JJ Grasso 3. Curt Michael 4. Chris Coyle 5. Kyle Purks 6. Davey Sammons 7. Michael Carber 8. Brett Schoenly 9. Kenny Meisner 10. Danny Massey 11. Nick Schlauch Jr, 12. Dave Gable 13. Mark Bitner 14. Andy Best 15. Eddie Wagner 16. Jimmy Reppert 17. Bryn Gohn 18. John Baker 19. Randy West 20. Art Liedl 21. Kramer Williamson 22. Joe Zuzcek 23. Robbie Stillwaggon 24. Scott Pursell


DNQ:  Jonathan Swanson, Andrew Hannula, Chuck Palmucci, Mike Kostic, Jay Shypinka, Tim Houge, Becca Anderson
1st Heat: 1. John Carpenter 2. PJ Okilver 3. Rich Mongeau 4. Jarrod Burdge 5. Ray Posik 6. Spider Ensinger Sr. 
2nd Heat: 1.  Shanon Mongeau 2. Kevin Bifulco 3. Joe Mongeau 4. Billy Wroble 5. Vern McLaughlin  6. Brian Ludwig


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Vern McLaughlin 2. Shanon Mongeau 3. John Carpenter 4. Joe Mongeau 5. Kevin Bifulco 6. Doug Debray 7. Ray Posik 8. Brian Ludwig 9. Scott Dugan 10. PJ Oliver 11. Jarrod Burdge 12. Tom Princiotta 13. Jay Bundy 14. Ed Tinsman 15. Billy Wroble 16. Jason Saredy 17. Rich Mongeau DNS: Mike Butler, Spider Ensinger Sr., Goop Mondelli