Cozze Jr. Charges to First Career Win At New Egypt 


New Egypt, NJ (May 16, 2009) – Frank Cozze, Jr. of Wind Gap, PA stunned everyone as he won his first ever Big-Block Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night in just his 4th start. Cozze, Jr. also won his heat and turned the single quickest lap of the feature event late in the race as he held off a hard charging Bob Drayton the entire event on Infante Sod Farm Scout Night.

Cozze, Jr. beat John Stangle into turn #1 on the initial start to grab the early lead using the far outside groove. Cozze, Jr. looked strong in the early going, but soon Bob Drayton had pulled into second the race was on. It only took until Lap 7 for Drayton to wrestle the lead away from Cozze, Jr. and show what he had. But his lead was short lived as two laps later it was Cozze, Jr. roaring around the outside of Drayton to take the lead once again. By lap 11 Ron John Koczon was driving hard trying to keep pace with our leaders, as Johnny Guarino and Billy Pauch chased after as well. However, the top two of Cozze, Jr. and Drayton were running their own race as they were definitely the two fastest cars on the track.  Guarino and Pauch slipped by Koczon as the three put on their own battle when the yellow flag appeared with 10 laps remaining. On the ensuing restart, Pauch and Guarino got together as the field fired off of turn 4 causing a chain reaction 7 car pile-up which involved the third thru seventh place runners. On the restart, Drayton continued to apply the pressure, but the Modified rookie was up to every challenge as the two raced side by side on many occasions without ever touching, much to the delight of the crowd. At the finish, Cozze, Jr. looked like a veteran as he held Drayton off by a single car length to post the popular win!  Drayton, who was looking for his first feature win in 9 years, settled for second, followed by another Modified rookie, John McClelland in third. Fourth went to Frank Cozze, Sr. who rebounded back from a pair of early race pit stops and popular NES regular Mike Hendershot rounded out the top five.

Ryan Forte of Blue Anchor, NJ won his first feature of his career last August. This week Forte followed that up with his second career visit to victory lane as he held off Chad Barney and two-time winner Rocco Infante to win the 20-lap Sportsman feature. Gene Stravinsky posted his best finish of 2009 coming home fourth followed by yet another top five finish for Mike Howardson, his third in three tries.

Rich Mongeau of Manchester, NJ won the Outlaw Stock feature event for the second time this season. The defending champ reversed the top two finish from last week as he beat last week’s winner P.J. Oliver by two car lengths to post the victory. 2007 champion Gary Klimeczak was third, followed by Joe Mongeau and John Carpenter.

In the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman series, DJ Ruppert won the 8 lap feature event for the second time in a row, and in the process has tied Brian Roemer for the Rookie title point lead after five events. Ryan Simmons finished second, with Matt Vaillancourt crossing the line third. 
Next Saturday night, May 23, New Egypt Speedway presents our Tribute to the Military sponsored by Joy Auto Parts. All active Military personnel with ID will admitted free. The Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club will also be on hand for their first appearance of 2009. The racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Super Stocks, Crate1 Sportsman & Rookies. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:30 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


AGATE 5/16/09
1st Heat: 1. Frank Cozze Jr. 2. Johnny Guarino 3. Tom Carberry 4. Rick Laubach 5. Mike McAleer 6. Tad Cox
2nd Heat: 1. Billy Pauch 2. John Stangle 3. Mike Hendershot 4. Mark Forte Jr. 5. Frank Cozze 6. John McClelland
3rd Heat: 1. Bob Drayton 2. Rich Rutski 3. Sam Martz 4. Gary Butler 5. Ron John Koczon 6. Dominick Buffalino 
B-Main: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Rick Holsten 3. Kenny Carberry 4. Tommy Beamer 5. Dan Waisempacher 6. Tim Tanner Jr. 7. John Salvatore Jr. 8. Chris Allen Jr.

(Pts Prov. Jim Robertson, Fan Prov. John Miloszar)


Feature (30 Laps): 1. Frank Cozze Jr. 2. Bob Drayton 3. John McClelland 4. Frank Cozze 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Tad Cox 7. Mike McAleer 8. Rich Rutski 9. Rick Laubach 10. Tommy Beamer 11. Tim Tanner Jr. 12. Jim Robertson 13. Rick Holsten 14. Tom Carberry 15. Mark Forte Jr. 16. Ron John Koczon 17. Dan Waisempacher 18. Sam Martz 19. John Salvatore Jr. 20. John Miloszar 21. John Guarino 22. Chris Allen Jr. 23. Billy Pauch 24. John Stangle 25. Gary Butler 26. Willie Osmun 27. Dominick Buffalino 28. Kenny Carberry


DNQ: Marc Herman, Bucky Kell, Brad Freeman 
1st Heat: 1. Chad Barney 2. Gene Stravinsky 3. Ryan Forte 4. Lou Farina 5. JT Trstensky 6. Marc Herman 7. John Stangle 8. George Quinlan 9. Mike Howardson
2nd Heat: 1. Tim Apgar 2. Jeff Geiges 3. Rocco Infante 4. Kevin Vaclavicek 5. Alan Bleacher 6. Bill Liedtka 7. John Marini Jr. 8. Jeff Marcucci DQ John Cornell (Light) 
B-Main: 1. Will Dupree 2. Tommy Carberry Jr. 3. Pat Wall 4. John Cornell 5. Everett Taylor 6. Robin McTighe 7. Wayne Bechtel


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Ryan Forte 2. Chad Barney 3. Rocco Infante 4. Gene Stravinsky 5. Mike Howardson 6. Will Dupree 7. Alan Bleacher 8. DJ Ruppert 9. Kevin Vaclavicek 10. Jeff Geiges 11. Bill Liedtka 12. Tommy Carberry Jr. 13. JT Trstensky 14. Pat Wall 15. Everett Taylor 16. John Marini Jr. 17. Wayne Bechtel 18. Jeff Marcucci 19. Lou Farina 20. Robin McTighe 21. John Cornell 22. Tim Apgar 23. Marc Herman 24. John Stangle 25. George Quinlan


DNQ: Harris Kohen, Dwight Laird, Jimmy Watts, Wayne Groover, Ryan Simmons, Ryan Hoffman, Brian Roemer, Matt Vaillancourt.
1st Heat: 1. Rich Mongeau 2. Doug Debray 3. Spider Ensinger Jr. 4. Mike Butler 5. Gary Klimeczak 6. Vern McLaughlin 7. Brian Ludwig 8. Kevin Bifulco 9. Scott Dugan  
2nd Heat: 1. PJ Oliver 2. Shannon Mongeau 3. Jason Dooley 4. Dan Collamer 5. Jason Saredy 6. Billy Wroble 7. Chris Felber 8. Goop Mondelli


Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rich Mongeau 2. PJ Oliver 3. Gary Klimeczak 4. Joe Mongeau 5. John Carpenter 6. Vern McLaughlin 7. Shannon Mongeau 8. Kevin Bifulco 9. Mike Butler 10. Jarrod Burdge 11. Doug Debray 12. Jason Dooley 13. Pat Conaway 14. Jay Bundy 15. Tom Princiotta 16. Chris Felber 17. Scott Dugan 18. Spider Ensinger Jr. 19. Dan Collamer 20. Bobby Butler 21. Billy Wroble 22. Goop Mondelli 23. Bill Connolly 24. Joe Reid 25. Brian Ludwig DNS: Jason Saredy, Ray Posick, Ed Tinsman, Scott Dunn.
Feature (8 Laps): 1. DJ Ruppert 2. Ryan Simmons 3. Matt Vaillancourt 4. Harris Kohen 5. Brian Roemer 6. Ryan Hoffman