Laubach Overcomes All Odds to Win New Egypt Mom’s Night


New Egypt, NJ (May 9, 2009) – Rick Laubach of Quakertown, PA won his first feature of the season at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap CMX Engineering  sponsored event. Laubach took the lead 1 lap before halfway and then masterfully navigated the speedway overcoming all obstacles and competition to capture his fourth career win at the facility.

“The track was tough tonight, but I want to commend the management for trying to run,” stated Laubach referring to a week’s worth of rain that created less than desirable track conditions. “Fortunately we were able to keep the car out of too much trouble and survive all the restarts.”  
John Salvatore, Jr. took command at the start of the event and led the first 5 laps, before losing the top spot to Ken Carberry on a restart. Carberry and Ron John Koczon were hooked up early and began to put on a wild crowd pleasing battle for the top spot while Laubach was quickly moving up thru traffic. By lap 8 Laubach had moved into the top five from his 16th starting spot and he was gaining more attention from the crowd. A lap 13 restart would prove to be the turning point as Laubach blasted from 4th to first in just one lap to gain the lead that he would never relinquish. Laubach held off the challenges of Koczon, then of Gary Butler and finally of Bucky Kell over the last half of the race, but none of them had enough to catch him as he put on a clinic of how to drive in less than ideal conditions. Kell finished a strong second, his third straight top three finish. Salvatore Jr. rebounded back and survived the attrition finishing third, Jim Robertson came home fourth and Tad Cox crossed the line in fifth.

Bryan Papiez of Belle Mead, NJ posted his first victory of 2009 in the 20 lap Crate-1 Sportsman feature. Last week’s winner Pat Wall rallied late to finish second, followed by Jon Haegele in third. Bobby Dmuchowski finished fourth and Rob Stump was fifth.

George Quinlan of Brick, NJ, the 2007 Super Stock champion, won the 20 lap Super Stock feature event. Quinlan got stronger as the event went on and won his 16th career feature event at the Ocean county speedplant. Mick Search finished second, followed by former champ Billy Bauer in third, Nick Vasquez fourth and opening night winner Todd Cray fifth.

In the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman series, D.J. Ruppert won the 8 lap feature event for his first career triumph. Matt Vaillancourt finished secondfor the second straight week chased by Ryen Simmons who settled for third.  
Next Saturday night, May 16, New Egypt Speedway presents Scout Night. All Scouts in uniform will be admitted free of charge. The racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks & Rookies. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net. 
AGATE 5/9/09
1st Heat: 1. Kenny Carberry 2. Frank Cozze Jr. 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Bucky Kell 5. Gary Butler 6. Sam Martz
2nd Heat: 1. Frank Cozze 2. Jim Robertson 3. Billy Pauch 4. Bob Drayton 5. Mark Forte Jr. 6. Tad Cox
3rd Heat: 1. John Salvatore Jr. 2. Ron John Koczon 3. Rick Laubach 4. Tom Carberry 5. Mike McAleer 6. Dominick Buffalino
B-Main: 1. Johnny Guarino 2. Brad Freeman 3. John McClelland 4. Mike Hendershot 5. Rick Holsten 6. Dan Waisempacher 
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Rick Laubach 2. Bucky Kell 3. John Salvatore Jr. 4. Jim Robertson 5. Tad Cox 6. John Guarino 7. Billy Pauch 8. Mark Forte Jr. 9. Mike Hendershot 10. Gary Butler 11. Rick Holsten 12. Ron John Koczon 13. John McClelland 14. Dominick Buffalino 15. Sam Martz 16. Frank Cozze 17. Tim Tanner Jr. 18. Bob Drayton 19. Tom Carberry 20. Ken Carberry 21. Frank Cozze Jr. 22. Dan Waisempacher 23. Rich Rutski 24. Brad Freeman 25. Mike McAleer 26. Chris Grbac


DNQ: Tommy Beamer, Chris Allen Jr., Marc Herman, John Stangle, Bobby Dmuchowski
1st Heat: 1. Lee Allen  2. Ryan Forte 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Jon Haegele 5. George Idell
2nd Heat: 1. Rob Stump 2. Bobby Dumchowski 3. John Micek 4. Bryan Papiez 5. Gabe Fox


Feature(20 Laps): 1. Brian Papiez 2. Pat Wall 3. Jon Haegele 4. Bobby Dumchowski 5. Rob Stump 6. George Idell Jr. 7. Lee Allen 8. Bryan Kuhl 9. Ryan Forte 10. Scott Cranstoun 11. Gabe Fox 12. Eric Engstrom 13. Matt Vaillancourt 14. Ryan Simmons 15. Rich Steele 16. John Micek
1st Heat: 1. Jerry Confer 2. Mick Search 3. Todd Cray 4. Marty Derr 5. Pete Fogarty 6. Mike Vaccaro
2nd Heat: 1. Nick Vasquez 2. Jason Bubeck 3. Norm Saxton 4. George Quinlan 5. Billy Bauer 6. Al Burdge


Feature (20 Laps): 1. George Quinlan 2. Mick Search 3. Billy Bauer 4. Nick Vasquez 5. Todd Cray 6. Jason Bubeck 7. George Marrero 8. Pete Fogarty 9. Kenny Guyer 10. Tony Giglio 11. Jesse McLaughlin 12. Larry Bubeck 13. Jerry Confer 14. Charlie Gunner 15.Al Burdge 16. Mike Vaccaro 17. Marty Derr 18. Norm Saxton 19. Dennis Seely Jr.
Feature (8 Laps): 1. DJ Ruppert 2. Matt Vaillancourt 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Brian Roemer 5. Harris Kohen 6. Ryan Hoffman